~36~ Pic of the Day 🌶

in #life6 years ago

31136d41-ca84-482a-9e70-bd6e260e8047.jpeg


Hello Steem Fam!

If you have seen my previous garden updates this year you will have seen this before.

A random plant started growing in one of the Christmas Cactus plants my sister is growing in her home.

We were feeding the plants compost water during the fall/ winter. This sturdy little plant began to grow!

We had no idea what it was!!

Until one day it flowered!! And, we knew it was a pepper plant! The pepper began to grow.

And, now....it's turning RED! Cool eh!!?

Thanks for Stopping by! Please share your fun growing experiences with me in the comments!!

#growingislife #doyougrow #foodisfree #growfoodnotlawn


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

Wicked picture, and story Jill :) That's one beautiful surprise pepper!

Hey Lynds! Thanks for stopping by! Mother Nature is AMAZING!!! Looking at the pepper you can see the importance of sunshine! The sunshine side is plump and red. The other side is more shriveled and green still! This pepper is a delightful treat just like having you stop by is ❤

Oh my goodness!! That's amazing that the sun caused only one side to ripen!

I love surprise volunteer mystery plants! <3 That's awesome!

It really is 😁 So glad you dropped your comment here today!

Nice to meet you @yogajill - I have seen a few of your posts on @sallybeth23's blog and thought I'd check yours out. Lovely to find you are a gardener too.

You are so lucky to have produced such a healthy surprise pepper! I have been battling infestations with my peppers but finally I have happy, unscathed peppers to eat. Look forward to reading more from your garden!

Hi @gardeningchef! Great to meet you 🎶🎵 thanks for taking time to stop by! I am glad to hear your peppers are doing well now! We also have a rouge squash plant growing in the window ledge in another house plant pot. It's started to bloom but is totally infested with aphids!! Not sure how to help it out. Perhaps bringing in some ladybugs might help! I just don't know lol. Gardening is so much fun.

Aphids are the worst!! They massively infested my cucumbers to the point of no return. I planted some Marigold flowers around my veggies as companion plants to prevent nasty bugs from getting on the rest of my crop. Thankfully that seemed to do the trick, despite losing the cues.

You could spray your squash plant with a light solution of water with a drop of washing up liquid, that kills off aphids. Just make sure you don't spray when sunlight is directly beaming on the plant as it can hurt it. Ladybugs could help too! Gardening sure is fun indeed. I have not been doing it long so I am constantly learning :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63156.23
ETH 2560.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83