~33~ Photo of the Day

in #life6 years ago

17b73789-7126-4727-aae8-4f291e350e1d.jpeg


This beautiful sansevieria plant 💚 It is an heirloom plant that my great-grandma and her son my great-uncle had taken care of for likely upwards of 80 years! Even the pot is original. Grandma had this plant in this one spot the whole time i grew up! When my great-uncle passes last February and then my cousin moved into the house i asked if i could be the caregiver to this plant. My cousin and grandma (my great-uncle's sister) agreed. And, so it travelled 800 kms to live with me. There are photos of this plant big and strong from when my mom was a baby! It's very cool because shortly after it came to me it started to sprout new shoots! And, it's continuing to thrive. Which surprises me because it was looking like it was in ill health. Plus, the research i did on this plant said they live 40 years max. My family thought i was nuts to want it. They were happy to let it compost and be done with it. I am so glad to care for it and to see new life coming from it!!

This is my entry to a contest about antiques. I need to refind who is hosting this contest! i came across it yesterday and new immediately i wanted to share this plant story for this contest!!

Have a Wonderful Day 💚


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

Awesome looking plant. Feed it ❤ everyday and it will live longer than 40

Excellent post...and..lovely photoshoot.my dear yogajill

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62264.03
ETH 2431.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50