You've Got Power Within You Girl. Use It.

in #life7 years ago

"An affirmation a day, keeps the madness at bay."

I was joking when I said this but I needed to ease the slight embarrassment I felt as my coworker watched me stick my post-it to my computer screen. I hadn't done this in a while. It's probably been maybe a year or so, but if I really wanted to commit to my new mantra of the year, I need to have reminders, and what better way to have reminders than use the post-it notes I've been stashing and hoarding. So there it stuck, bright orange and in all of its glory, right in the center where I couldn't avoid reading its words.

Let me be honest with you guys, these first few weeks of the year have been more than I can typically deal with. In fact, I thought this month was going to break me and all the progress I've made in the past year when it comes to dealing with life's downsides while keeping my anxiety in check. But with amazing friends and family, I've managed to keep a lid on things. Not to mention, coping mechanisms like affirmations have kept my negative thinking and self-doubt to a minimum. I think that's key: being able to rewire your thoughts to something more uplifting, and recognizing your power to react to life's blows in a way that doesn't involve a pity party.

When you can control and change your thoughts, you can ultimately change your life."

I began using affirmations back in 2011 after watching "The Secret" and after reading The Complete Writings of Florence Scovel Shinn for Women. When you're young and heartbroken, you'll turn to anything for relief, but these specific things were books and movies my Aunty Sade had recommended to me after listening to me cry for a couple of days. Aunty Sade, who has been a buddhist for as long as I can remember, has a way of turning the most intense and distressing conflicts into small bites of life that are easy to chew, taste, and then digest. Through her I have become a believer of good and bad energy, a believer that the universe is on my side (you know, if I allow her to be), but most importantly, with the help affirmations, I've tapped into a higher power that is, well, me.

"You've got power within you girl. Use it. - Aunty Sade."

I don't fully believe in everything that comes with "The Law of Attraction" but I do believe that if we change our thoughts, we change our lives. We can't just think things and have them manifest. That is not how it works. That's not even magic. That's just silliness. We have to think we can do something. Like totally and completely believe in it. And then we have to do something towards it. Put actions behind the thought. Put movement behind the intention. There is work that has to be done but before we can even get to that point, we have to recognize there is power within us and our words.

When we speak terrible things about ourselves, we further lodge that terrible thought into our minds, making it an automatic go to thought when things go wrong or not as planned. When we are mean to ourselves, we welcome others to also be mean to us too. And quite frankly, thinking all things negative is absolutely and unequivocally draining as fuck. Something I'm often reminded of during my down days. Bad and shitty thoughts live off and attract other bad and shitty thoughts. And then guess what that creates? Bad and shitty feelings, and I really have no energy to put towards that. So I'm getting back into the habit of speaking joy, and beauty, and courage and success, and all things goodness into my spirit.

With February being National Self-Esteem Month, for the next 28 days, I plan to share an affirmation a day via my social media accounts to truly keep the madness at bay. It's the best way for me to keep my positive thoughts rolling, not to mention, when you're in a period of transition like I currently am, you need all the motivating words you can get (especially your own motivating words.)

Xx,
Phenomenal Yetti

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by goldenfish from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Welcome to Steem Community @yettisays! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Thank you, thank you!

I love what you've quoyed in your post... "An affirmation a day, keep the madness at bay" It hit the nail on the head! LOA is a tricky concept and so it's so important to take action when we are called to. Affirmations are just words but I do believe that if we are consistent with them, they have the power to change the corrupt codes in our system. Beautiful insight @yettisays :)

EXACTLY! I try to use them for anything negative that I constantly say about myself. I think it's working lol. Thank you for reading!!!

Hello @yettisays. Welcome to Steemit. I am David. I wish you have a happy journey here.

Interestingly great post.. 😊😊

Thank you :)

So how was your February then?

It was actually pretty good! I did the daily affirmations, posted them through out my social media, and by the end of the month I felt a little more confident. A little more in control of my current circumstances (moved out of NYC and began scoring some interviews).

Think I'm going to do another round in August! I'll def. share here in case anyone else wants to follow along!

I'll look forward to it!
I've had my best success with'gratitude'.
I think focusing on appreciating what you have over what you want can be really powerful.

Congratulations @yettisays! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome , waiting for the new post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59231.42
ETH 2599.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45