Speculators lose, Steemians win...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life5 years ago (edited)

I just did my first trade, which of course scared the hell out of me (as usual.) Bought around 238 SP, cause I'm broke, right? I had been considering doing so for a while, but when I saw the price of Steem today, I didn't hesitate, because I'm in this for the long haul. Probably a decade ago I saw a post on the EVE forums about how to mine bitcoins, and didn't attempt it because I was too lazyscared to try and learn Linux. If I had taken that chance, I'd have been rolling in cash... hookers and blow, the whole thing.

In a way I'm thankful I didn't, because I'm pretty happy with my life right now, and sometimes having too much spare money can hurt a person more than it helps. Now is -absolutely- not that time, lol. But I've learned how to make it, even thrive, in poverty... and I'm so thankful, so blessed.

There was a time when I was blowing around $100 a week on snacks, cigarettes, sodas, movies, videogames... All I got out of that was anxiety, a divorce, bankruptcy and diabetes. Impulse-buying nearly killed me... but this is no impulse. If I had been able, I'd have bought 2380 SP.

But you see the thing is this... If Steem completely died and this site ended up being just another info-mining social network like Wastebook or Shitter... I wouldn't be going anywhere. I would happily remain here, because what I value is the community, not the cash. That's the difference between a speculator and a Steemian, a Waster and a Taster.

And I surely do hope that Steem goes meteoric and grants me a lifetime supply of hookers and blow, but I'll be fine if it doesn't... because my work pays in smiles, not fiat-currency to be traded in exchange for soda and worthless fidget-spinners that retail for $20.

Fuck your $20 fidget-spinner, pal. $1 gets me a Walmart yo-yo, that is infinitely more fun and useful... Cause yo-yo tricks make people smile, and smiles trade big on certain markets... ;-)

yoyo.jpg
Butterflies, remember?

I'm here to give, not take. I noticed that my upvote-rewards didn't amount to much, and I wanted to be able to give more to Steemians than I was able to... so I fixed it. Good work gets votes, votes bring smiles, and I grow ever stronger.

Praise to the Praiseful,

Silas Danois

Sort:  

It’s Time to Buy some STEEM?
I think so, LOL!

A huge hug 🤗 from @amico!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hope many more Steemians buy at these prices. I added some today and hope to do so as much as possible. Trying to divert cash to more crypto and stopping needless spending.

Congrats buddy.. I just dumped a bunch of useless coins that I lost 10s of thousands of $ on and put the remainder in Steem. Let's hope something good happens.

I bought some at 41 cents then it immediately went to 39! It's back now but sheesh, how low can she go!

You, sir are my favorite kind of Steemian! Reading your post made me smile!

Welcome to Steem! good to see you dove in...

Enjoyed every word of it! 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

It's great to have people like you around in these dark crypto days. I'm glad that you're staying for good... and I'm adamant to read more stories from you kekeke.

Ah, hell... Guess I'm gonna have to write Annie's children's book. Wanna illustrate?

Posted using Partiko Android

I usually draw depending on what my hands let me, since it's just a hobby for me. But if the story connects with me, who knows what might happen ^_^.

Yeah excellent. So glad you are sticking around. There is so many of us that have now adopted this view which is really nice. The more power we have the more we can help people and keep this platform going. I'm totally addicted I love everyone here and I would rather spare spend my spare change on Steam then a bottle of wine. Actually that is total line I would take the wine any day. Lucky that I am in a position to do both. I blame the wine last night which made me buy more steam full stop so they are not necessarily mutually exclusive

Posted using Partiko Android

watebook and shitter ... haha

way to go , let rock n roll steem back up again

peace

your positivity and talents are so wonderful <3 love your attitude, @yestermorrow !!! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99