The Irony Of Life - Where Does Your Satisfaction Lie.

in #life6 years ago

I have wondered for a very long time and will continue to, why certain things happen the way they do, and to those it happens to. It baffles me how we really about life.

IMG_2522.JPG

There is this story shared by Shetty Jay, I guess you know him, if you don't, then I will recommend a little Google search on the name. Enough about this award winner Shetty, as we hit on this message.

It was basically about a fisherman who was resting inside his boat and was seriously loving it, then an industrialist/Entrepreneur came along and was like. Why are you resting, don't you have more fishes to catch? And the fisherman said, I have caught enough for the day, enough to feed my family and myself so I decided to take a rest for the day.

The entrepreneur was visbly irritated by such shallow mentality and said to the Fisherman, don't you know you can catch more and sell them for some good money?

The fisherman seemed surprise and he asked, what do I need the money for? My family is fine and I am too. The entrepreneur was not getting him so he went on and on about how he can become self sufficient and have a fleet of boat by getting more fishes for sale and even fixing a better engine on his present boat.

In all this the fisherman was really lost so he ask, why do I need all these fleet of boat and all these big things and the money, and the entrepreneur was like, then you can really rest and enjoy. It sounded very funny to the fisherman so he asked.So what am I doing now.

IMG_2523.JPG

I was particularly moved by the analogy of getting the fisherman to quite rest and work so that he can actually rest.

Needless to say this is not a real life story but it portrays real life. We are often on the chase to get that money and forget the basic neccesities of life, one of which is rest.

Life is far beyond the struggle to get all that stuff because in the end it appears we are searching for what we already have or had, the life changing thing is that most times when we realise these things it becomes too late to come back to what made us happy because they are no more there, they either have been adjusted or moved on themselves.

I know of a guy, a very close friend of mine, who was and is still arguably the most brilliant dude I ever knew and was so well on his way to become a medical doctor, he was so good that he wrote a scholarship to study in Japan and passed all the courses except elementary Japanese because he studied it for only 2 weeks and was the 3rd overall of 120 students across all highschools then.

On the other side was me, an average student, not the brightest and surely not the dumbest, just somewhere in there I know some people can relate. But the irony of the whole story was and still is I got admitted into university, studdied a good course and graduated with good grades, but my friend who was the brightest and best I can remember is not yet done with his program, he didn't even get to see Japan or anywhere else and have not gotten into a university yet.

The reason I put these similar and dissimilar stories together is just to buttress these points.

Hustle is over rated and Happiness underated don't ask me how or why, you can figure that out from the first story, it is not just enough to be busy all in the bid to get what Will make you happy, when you can make yourself happy because in the end The happiness was with you all along. Just be comfortable in your own skin.

There are different parts for different people, sometimes you can't just understand certain things no matter how hard you try, to me the best explanation to life is Religion and Christianity because the Bible tells me that, man born of a woman has few days but full of troubles isn't that obvious already? So while you bang your head a go on and on about this life and how complicated it is, I will just love because that is the best solution to all the hate and stuff. You won't get it because you deserve it because in the end Life has to happen to us all

And we can't do much about it no matter how hard we try and if you just lay on your back and expect life to favour you. Then you will be disappointed because THAT IS THE IRONY OF LIFE

Thank you.

Sort:  

The first 100 years are difficult, then it gets easier:D

In 100 years we are no more, life just hits us hard but we have to fight back.
It get me thinking some people live a better life, but everyone is just like me, with their different problems.

First 100 years? How?

That is such an awesome post. It has really got me thinking. We have happiness all the while with us. Thank you for this post.

You are welcome @bisodun If we look closely, the little things we need that satisfies us are just arround us.
Thanks for going through the post.

That is very true. You're welcome.

Everyone has different goals in life and I think these goals define our happiness.. It doesn't matter if the dream you want to fulfill is big or not, as long as you're happy while trying to reach your goal :) I really like the example you gave with the fisherman! Thanks for sharing!

Thanks for going through the post, I feel happy that you enjoyed it.
Some people really set goals too high, and they are just not satisfied until they get them, at least take a break and enjoy the little you got.

@xpency thanks for this post. I felt soul filling peace while reading.

We actually run after the things we think will bring us happiness. While we neglect true happiness.

It's just like the air, it's around, but we don't pay attention to it. We unconsciously depend on it, but we pay no attention to it. When we start drowning, or the air ceases, we gasp for air, that's when it becomes so important.

Don't let it get to the extreme before prioritizing what gives life meaning.

Hustle is truly overrated.

Happiness is too underrated.

I wrote a post similar to this today also, because I must tell you we, this present generation is misplacing priorities.

At the end of our lives, will we be filled with regrets, or be excited we made ourselves happy and brought happiness to the people that mattered the most to us.

Don't die, or let them die before you realize how much they meant to you.

Thanks boss.

You actually said some words here, I wish a lot of people understand this.

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @wafrica. Follow @wafrica to get a valuable upvote on your quality post!

Congratulations @xpency! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79