This is the best country in the world, and yet so many people feel so helpless and withdrawn....

in #life7 years ago (edited)

There is a good reason for that. The blame... today's politics. I grew up in the 80's, and the racial tension was powerful if you
were Black or Hispanic in a white neighborhood. I'm of Hispanic descent. I'm not a stranger to the words "Wetback, Refugee,
Spic, ..etc" Those words never hurt my feelings. Kids back then had a much thicker skin.

What did I do about it? I earned my respect. There were no safe spaces to run to and no pillows to beat on. And just how did I
do it? Well...I've always loved Heavy Metal and wore Slayer, Megadeth, and Iron Maiden T-shits. Others around me quickly
learned that I wasn't so different after all and enjoyed having me around. Some of my best memories are from the mosh pits.
My white friends were there to pick me up if I hit the floor. It really meant something to me.

Identifying with my peers wasn't enough at times. Sometimes, I was forced to demand my respect by either whooping someone's ass, or by getting my ass whooped. Either way, one fight was enough.

Bullying was rampant and much more brutal than today. It was even glorified in motion pictures. It was up to you to put a stop to it or become a victim for life. The movie "Back To The Future" is great example.

Today, people feel completely powerless. Everything we do or say has a negative consequence, no matter how benign or severe. You are wrong even if you are right.

The political environment makes us feel helpless and impotent. We are being programmed to let ourselves get stepped on by others because it would be politically incorrect to say anything.

What happened to our patriotism? I remember seeing American flags on every car, home, and many other places. Not anymore. It's even offensive to wear an American flag on your t-shirt in some places.

I love this country and would give anything to feel that sense of personal freedom that I once enjoyed without the Political Correctness Police breathing down my neck.

Resist the thought police. We should be able to express ourselves any way we please. This is America, not a third world country.

Helpless.png

Sort:  

Welcome to the platform, I wish everything work out for you. It’s not easy here but not difficult neither but just ask an extra effort, engagement is the key good luck I’m @zohaibkhan Start by following people and they will do the same.

Thank you for the tip.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61305.83
ETH 3302.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48