You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Third Culture Perspective on the Tug of War between Being Unintentionally Rude and Politically Correct

in #life8 years ago

Wow, really article! I can relate quite a bit, because I am a tck, kinda. A bit because of my background, a bit because of my cirumstance.

By the way, this whole "you are the average of five people you spend most time with" is the idea behind mastermind groups. That is conciously bringing change in yourself by surrounding yourself with people you want to be more like.

Oh, another thing, with us vs them, I kinda noticed that people need to separate into those two groups, but I feel it is just silly, divisive and disempowering even for them.
Thing is, it comes from many thousands of years where supporting "us" and be wary of "them" meant the difference between safety & survival and danger & extinction, but these days it does much more harm than good. But as all things that were part of the psyche for so long it takes a lot of effort to change.

Anyhow, Im following you, your writing is very cool!

Sort:  

Hi @xanoxt! I'm following you too, now. I was really floored by your piece on The Rum Diaries. Though I haven't seen the movie, I am surprised they chose the chaff over the wheat. That makes me want to read the book, though.

On "us vs. them" I definitely agree with you that there's a biological origin to it. I often think human behavior is predominantly unconscious though, as you point out, it doesn't have to be. At least not nearly so much. I'm curious about mastermind groups and every type of intentional conscious choice-making. In the last few years, I have isolated myself from society semi-intentionally and am now feeling a stir to connect on my own terms, which is a little scary, but more like a very internal adventure. I'll be curious to read more about your travels! Well met, @xanoxt!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58576.55
ETH 2982.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71