"Complexity" - A Personal Rant

in #life7 years ago

Winter, Wintry, Moon, Human

This may be my first and only post that stays outside the realm of fiction and poetry. But I’ve come to the realization that certain things need be said, and while the ability to properly verbalize my thoughts escapes me, luckily, a keyboard should suffice.

I’ve noticed that people are content to hold on to beliefs no matter how draconian or archaic. Yet, as I’ve understood it, opinions are meant to change as humans are meant to develop and grow. As circumstances evolve, so must our mindsets.

We cannot move forward if we are complacent in staying still.

As an example, I am a former Christian. A more accurate depiction of my worldview would be atheist but even then I feel such a label fails to meet the mark. I had moved on from that perspective because I realized that for me, it restricted the spirit of individuality. Stifled what is the human condition. Particular impulses and biological imperatives were shackled to an invention that sought to ‘civilize’ every man and woman, to imbue within a standard which no one could possibly maintain.

While I uphold the notion that each person can believe as they wish, I also think that those prerogatives should be challenged, and in those confrontations be willing to adapt if such discourse presents evidence that couldn’t be refuted on the foundation of sound reasoning. Even in accordance to those seemingly stringent limitations, humans are far more complex. Emotion, sentimentality often dictates our character. This is where logic tends to falter.

So I understand this want to be right. As I type this, I, too, would like to think I am correct in my conclusions. But in someone’s eyes, I will be wrong.

Thing is, I am entirely willing to be wrong, despite what the rest of this post may suggest. It’s okay to admit defeat. The real victory lies in what we learn as a result and if we can take what we have learned and apply it to ourselves, to make ourselves better, to become wiser.

I am not perfect, as you are not perfect.

If you have a voice to speak, you have ears to listen. And I think that’s all we need to remember. Empathy is our greatest ally.

I apologize for the brevity of this post. I understand this is well outside the norm for me but I needed to get it all off my chest. I promise after this more fiction will head your way!

I want to write a comedy. Something more light-hearted than what I’ve been producing of late. Anyway. I hope you’ve all had a good day/night!

Sort:  

unspeakable words for the picture.

I have very similar thoughts and experiences ... perhaps not totally because i draw lines and still believe in the possibility of a spirit world and/or something byond my grasp. Thanks for sharing and i hope tonread mord of your work!

I too am in a place where I gave up belief systems. I don't identify as an atheist either because that in itself is a belief system that nothing beyond this life exists. I don't think that either. I think consciousness is something we don't understand, but that it is the essence of this life. Consciousness exists and communicates with outside of our physical form. Who we are, our identification of self is outside of the body and exists beyond the body.

The fun thing about not having belief systems as a paradigm, means I can take theories, or ideas, plug them into my current construct of reality and see how it fits. If it doesn't I can let it go without fanfare or issues, and move on to the next idea. That is one of the biggest problems with holding tightly to belief systems, they are constructs that do not allow for new ideas or ways of thinking or viewing the world, they are rigid structures that require the believers to stick to the written script and not deviate.

Sure people are free to hold belief systems, but the question is why should we? If people entrenched in belief systems would just stop and ask why they so strongly believe something that is rigid as truth, then maybe they could look beyond their narrow view of the world to see more of the grand scheme of what reality is meant for.

I think that this reality is a simulation used by our higher dimension consciousness being that this body represents a portion of. I currently think that this reality is a training ground for immature consciousness, for which we keep upgrading and absorbing as we grow and mature (our higher self not just our current reality representation.) This is why we are often like toddlers still into adulthood, because our consciousness is an immature whole self. I think we keep coming back to absorb more experience, much like a new life in a video game. lol

But these things that I think can be changed as I get new information or contemplate new ideas. I am not rigidly stuck to these ideas as a belief system. I will not feel betrayal if I stop thinking these things as I hold no emotional attachment to them. I just try to not rack up any more bad karma that I will have to deal with in this life and after this life is over. I'd much rather have good karma (energy) that supports me through this life and is a learning experience for my whole conscious self.

Great post. Nice to see others contemplating reality and belief systems. :)

I think that ideally, our beliefs should grow/evolve as we do. However, having said that I think that we(I) hold onto certain aspects of those beliefs (mine being Christian) as a familiar life-raft against the scary "unknown". I admire your dedication to be open to change as it scares most of us. I hope you do find that "right" place for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57495.90
ETH 2348.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36