You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Boy Scouting came to America 🇺🇸

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Phenomenal article, sir! Almost exhaustive in its comprehensiveness. I made it all the way up to Life Scout but never finished getting my Eagle. I miss those days. Thanks for this!

Sort:  

Thanks for the kind words. I only made it to Weblos when the pack I was in folded and the next closest pack was in a different school district so I was the odd kid out and ended up dropping out. At times I thought I was re-living my youth through my sons scouting. These days it is not 'cool' to be in scouts so he struggled at times and most likely would have dropped if not for me pushing him. I knew if he made it through he would be proud and thankful. As you know, there are no life scouts that are glad they didn't make eagle. In fact, I think a lot of life scouts help me convince him to keep at it. Now that he has earned Eagle Scout and is in college, he is very glad and proud that he stuck it out. Here is a post I did on his eagle project a while back -> https://steemit.com/eaglescoutproject/@bushkill/honeybee-observation-hive-and-educational-kiosk-eagle-scout-project

I am one of them! A couple of years ago I heard from a friend that a boy from the local troop didn't have an adult to go with him to the Father/Son camping trip, so I got to go with him as a "sponsor", and when I was there I talked with the troop about the benefits of staying with the Scouts, and my regrets about not doing so myself. I will check out his project now! Thanks!

Scouting is a great experience but relies heavily on the adults to support and encourage the boys. I regret not understanding the value of sticking it out and I my parents did not either. Thanks for making difference in a young boys life, hopefully he stuck it out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62416.00
ETH 2447.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62