A professor at St Petersburg State University in Russia

in #life7 years ago

church-of-the-resurrection-of-christ-petersburg-russia.jpg

If someone would have told me in the 1980's that I would be teaching students in Russia I would have shot them. As a US Marine, Russia was our enemy - in fact I remember getting my ass chewed as a Lcpl for not saluting some visiting Russian officers - another story for another time - In 2006 after having been to Russia numerous time and even spending 6 months teaching at another university I was asked by Dr. Vadim Golubev if I would teach at the Canadian studies centre of Philology faculty under the Canadian consulate in St Petersburg, I had nothing else to do so I accepted and that turned into 7 wonderful years there, which seen me get married and have 2 daughters born there. I later started teaching at the Journalism faculty as well. My time there allowed me to help students, especially at the Journalism faculty, to understand articles written from a cultural aspect so as to properly understand the article they are reading.

x_6734e303.jpg

MY FIRST CLASS OF STUDENTS FROM THE BALTIC STATE UNIVERSITY (VOENMEK)

x_4bf6e5d1.jpg

MY FIRST JOURNALISM CLASS AT JOURNALISM FACULTY ST PETERSBURG STATE UNIVERSITY

x_92d9e04d.jpg

MY FIRST PUBLIC RELATIONS CLASS AT JOURNALISM FACULTY ST PETERSBURG STATE UNIVERSITY

Living in St Petersburg was one of the best times of my life - I love history and this city (and Russia) is rich in history. I have lost count of how many times I visited the Hermitage or the Russian Museum - I would often stop off on my way to work or from work depending on the time I had to walk their halls - the neat thing was as a professor at the university I had free admission - I became such a regular that the lady at the admissions desk just waved me through every time - of course there is much more outside of museums to see also and I was never disappointed.

LED_01.jpg

St Petersburg Russia will always be home to me - my wife is from there and both our daughters were born there, and this is where in the future we will return. Я служу России

st-petersburg-russia.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60796.54
ETH 3365.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50