The Baozi Lady - China & Beyond (Stories, Food, and Noise) - Dispatch 003

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I'd probably have never stepped foot inside this place if it weren't for a teaching assistant telling me I could find Xiaolongbao, the intensely delicious, steamed, soup-filled bun. If you look from the tiny door outside, you see a wall, and a gas tank. However, once you step in, there's 8 seats off to the left. These are not Xiaolongbao, the impossibly thin, bag-like, god-like Shanghai style soup dumplings. They're buns with fillings. This particular kind are not nearly as thick as normal Baozi I have had, though they have some of the chew. Like half-way between the two. Either way, when I asked for them, I got these. Delicious as hell. Pic your poison. Pork, Veggie and Egg. Whatever, they are all good. Going to make it a priority to dive into more unassuming places this year. Sometimes you never know until you poke your head inside.

Total cost : $1.20.

004.jpg

005.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59046.50
ETH 2654.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50