MARKET TREASURE HUNT

in #life7 years ago

Last weekend I brought my kids to local market. I like there because we can see a lots of rare things there. I like them to get in touch with all these what we known as local products. I took some of pictures only.

1-Sago Worm ( Ulat Sagu, Ulat Mulong, 硕莪虫)
image

2
image

**3-A bigger one **
image

**4-Bought some for fun **
image

5-My cousin fried them. Sorry for the low pixel pic.
image

If you dare to eat them alive, they taste like coconut oil. I've tried them alive and also put them in beer. But beer smell stronger than the original. Fried one just like normal fried, it also lost its original taste.

Sago worm only like sagu tree trunk. The tree also known as True Sago Palm (Metroxylon sagu), which local used to obtain a lots of starch and process into sago. I never seen these worms grown into betles because I don't have enough sago palm trunk for them. According to Wikipedia, they are larvae of red palm weevil or Asian palm weevil. Il try to get one of them one day.



**6-Alive Horseshoe Crab (Limulidae, 鲎, 马蹄蟹)
It has been a long time I didn't see these in alive. Now they've been sell on market. I've asked how to eat them, they just said eat they eggs like female crab.
image

7-Salak (Snake fruit, 蛇皮果)
image
I only know its Chinese name 蛇皮果。 And now I know it's Salak in Malay and snake fruit in English . Thanks Steemit.

8-The skin just looks like snake skin >"<
image

9-Under the skin
image

According to the information online, its contain very high potassium and pectin, and it's also good for our memory.





Hope you all like my sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52740.91
ETH 2362.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.09