A Motivational Story - A Dream Come True

in #life7 years ago

When I was young, my household consisted of my mother, my grandmother, and my uncle. I had no contact with my father. My mother took a passive role in my upbringing causing my grandmother to raise me primarily. I lost her to severe pneumonia when I was 10. My mother tried to continue my grandmother's efforts; although, began to fall short. She did not work and withdrew most days leaving me to my own actions/thoughts. My uncle, who was providing all financial support passed when I was 11 leaving my mother and myself with no financial support.
inspiration+vrs+motivation.jpg

She applied for financial assistance and we were barely surviving. With my mother’s withdrawal from life, little financial skills, and poor organization I did not have food, clothes, or discipline. After an investigation by child services, I was placed in foster care. Upon returning to my mother's care, I had lost hope of a "normal" life.

Prior to placement in foster care, I had volunteered at the local hospital to gain hospital experience, since I had wanted to be a doctor. After the foster home experience, I felt alone and destitute. I saw no hope of obtaining such a grand educational journey.
At the age of 20, my son was born and I began working long hours. The relationship with his mother did not last. I continued to work; although, had many ups and downs along the path. My mother passed away when I was 23 leaving me with no close family. My father continued to be removed. I struggled with the gap in my life and felt alone, but continued on and was married at the age of 24. My daughter was born and I promised myself to strive higher in life. I took a chance and applied for a better job, which would double my salary —I was accepted! My life was again changed due to divorce and a lay-off at 27 years old. For my children, I decided to pursue college and my dream. Succeed or not, at least I tried.

I began at the local community college and was then able to transfer to a 4-year college for a degree in Biology. I applied to 5 medical schools in the area to stay close to my children. I was accepted in 2006. I dedicated myself and did not let anything distract me from my goal.

I am now a practicing physician and could not be happier. I did eventually become close to my father only to lose him a few months before my medical school graduation. I am close with my son, who is now 22 and my daughter, who will soon be 18. I continue my journey to advanced leadership positions and continue to refuse negativity. I continue to be inspired by those I meet who have gone through much worse than I and have achieved success.
We can all obtain so much in our lives. I hope this story provides you hope.


Thanks for reading!

Please Upvote, Resteem & Follow Me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57383.94
ETH 2450.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40