Finding the Ideal Birthday gift ... for my Wife!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Easy to get right ... a catastrophe when you get it wrong

For those of you who follow me a bit longer and have read my post from Wednesday, you know that it was my wife’s birthday on Wednesday. For those of you who find me for the first time ... now you know 😉

Finding a present 🎁 for my wife is proving to become harder every year. She is a woman who is easily satisfied ... if you give her what she wants, but that’s the trick to find out what she wants. I pressed the matter several times prior to her birthday, but I never got a straight answer of what I could give her.

For our 5th wedding 👰 anniversary I got her a book about her. You can create a book about a specific person with interesting and fun facts about them and things that happened on their birthday, starsign, etc. It's called 'the Book of Everyone'. This proved to be a mistake, although nice it’s not the kind of present that she likes. Every year a day after her birthday we celebrate another anniversary, that of being x years together. So to mark both occasions I make her a photoalbum with events of the past year. So this she got anyway and was not a surprise.

Finally, a few days before her birthday she said she’d like ‘more family time’! Although not impossible, it’s also not a clear straight answer for a gift.

Then it hit me, our kids are 3 and 16 months, so you’re very limited in your options, but all of a sudden it hit me!

IMG_1122.JPG

A zoo subscription for a year!

IMG_1158.JPG

This would guarantee that we’d go several times a year and spend some quality time as a family. Especially since the kids are small, you don’t want to be spending a full day in the zoo, when you know they still long for a sleep in the afternoon. This way we can go 4/5 hours each time and discover a part of the zoo in detail without rushing. Next time we go to another part.

Yesterday we went there for the first time and I almost regretted the gift. The first animals that we saw as we entered the zoo were penguins 🐧. As we stood there observing them ‘sunbathing’ and relaxing, my daughter threw up a tantrum that she wanted to go inside (obviously used to petting zoos, she wanted to go inside and pet the penguins). We managed to calm her down once we got to the aquarium, but for a few moments she made me think wether I’d really got my wife the right present.

IMG_1103.JPG
These cute little fellows almost ruined the present for me

After this tantrum we had a great time and our kids both loved it. Yesterday we mainly saw:

  • Fish 🐠
  • Penguins 🐧
  • Reptiles 🐍
  • Birds 🐦
  • Monkeys 🐒

All the things that kids really liked, without going over the top and giving all of us a reason to go back soon.

I never used to be a fan of zoos, the animals feel captured and neutralised to me. Especially after we came back from our honeymoon to South-Africa I really felt an aversion against zoos. On the other hand, there are animals that couldn’t survive in the wild anymore and it also serves an educational purpose. Besides the animals also get nicer environments these days, more in line with their natural habitat.

IMG_1145.JPG
2 Yellow-Banded Poisondart Frogs well camouflaged to suit their environment

So beware there will be more zoo posts in the future. Stay tuned. I leave you with a few more pictures of our visit to the zoo yesterday.

IMG_1112.JPG
Red Lionfish

IMG_1106.JPG
Pennant Coralfish

IMG_1121.JPG

IMG_1132.JPG
Dyeing Dart Frog

Doron

!steemitworldmap 47.387163708109696 lat 8.574485781308567 long Zoo Zürich D3SCR

Sort:  

You nailed it!! I have to say this is every year the most challenging thing to do for the once you love. Find something original yet not THAT expensive 2 :P
Also, your gift is golden, since it would probably mean more things to shoot for you as well! (not literally, but in the way I shoot in the zoo sometimes 📸 )


t.

LOL, yes absolutely. It would be nicer if they gave some suggestions on what to get them. I always do that . It also avoids that I get disappointed.

Haha yep, that would work better indeed! But things to do is always a better gift then a object..


t.

but the question still stand, was your wife happy with the gift or not? or is she still thinking about it?

cool pics by the way

Thanks, yes it was the perfect gift ... as long as I dedicate myself to going with her several times this year.

Nice gift, time is always the most precious thing you can give to another person. But I also love to add some jewelry :))

Jewelry is a nice gift, but my wife has a difficult taste and she doesn't like it so much. I wouldn't buy it without her.

You know how I do it :) A month before a bday I walk with her through the mall and just casually ask what she think about different stuff, clothes, jewelry. Incognito mode :))

Sounds like a good plan, the problem is she doesn't like shopping so much as long as she's not happy with her clothingsize. But it does sound like a sound plan ... anyway I have a year to prepare for the next birthday :-D

this is the harder challenge for every man , Birthday gift for the Wife

Thank for the post i hope it's will help me on the next wife birthday

Us men need to stick together ;-)

Happy Birthday to your wife!
I am also not a fan of the zoos, but the kids have fun there...

... and for family time it is a great location.

interesting post and awesome photos......

Thank you!

Happy birthday for your wife may both of you live long with health; wealth and happy life.

Thank you very much!

Personally the most things that make me puzzled are birthday gifts.I appreciate the idea of ​​making a book about your wife and giving it to her on her birthday, it shows a beautiful relationship of love between you.thanks for sharing😃

Yeah, very difficult to get it right and if you get it wrong, they never forget about it.

This is crazy. I loved the book of everyone. A wonderful gift option to consider.

And congratulations buddy.

Thank god im still single but it was nice an best of luck for your coming life

Thank you and you good luck as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58300.22
ETH 2638.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44