Being a Christian

in #life7 years ago

Ok, I know this is not everyones cup of tea, but hear me out.

I'm not those radical, get saved now or die, people. My take on Christianity is different to the "norm". I can honestly say that lots of people put me off from being a Christian with pointing out all my faults, and yes it is offputting. Certain passages of scripture were used to point out how condemmed my life would be. While the Bible does say you need to remove the log from your eye before pointing out the splint in others.

Recently, however, I came to learn that Christianity is not about making people feel bad about how they live their lives. As Christians we are called to live in a way that reflects love, love to EVERYONE. We are to live our lives in a way that reflects the love of God.

Sure, this is tough, how can you love the murderer and the rapist? But that is not for us to concern ourselves with. God will be the judge of their deeds. To those with different beliefs as me, I have no right to judge you. "Do not not judge, lest ye be judged" Matthew 7: 1-3. It's easy to point out the wrong in others while we ourselves have sinned.

So as for me, this is how I am to live my life. I am not better than anyone, nor do I claim to be. The Bible also says that he who wants to be the greatest among you must be your servant. So those who claim to be "Holier than thou" will need to be the servant of all.

This is my personal view of being a Christian. I believe if, not even the world, but the church were to live by the Bible there would be far less bickering in the church and segregation over how certain passages of the Bible are interpreted. In this instance, Christians can learn from the Muslim faith in standing up for what you believe in.

Hope you all have a blessed day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64839.49
ETH 3551.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32