Songs about Jesus

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I love my husband and children, I love what I do at my church, I am very much enjoying my new gig as Director of Communications for Tradeqwik, and I've had some of the most fun ever playing around with cryptocurrencies and working on becoming a Steemit whale.

But my first and greatest love is Jesus. Nothing else in my life even comes close to what He means to me.

I've put together a little montage of songs that express well (though by no means exhaustively) who Jesus is and what He does. I hope you enjoy listening to them and that they help you get to know a little better the One who is my Life.

This first song is the hymn of praise sung by Jesus' mother Mary soon after she became pregnant with Him, often referred to as The Magnificat.

I really like this version too, but it does not include the second verse.

This song speaks of the extravagant love and burning desire to reach us that caused God Himself to incarnate as a human being. How many kings stepped down from their thrones, how many lords abandoned their homes, how many greats became the least, how many gods poured out their hearts... Only One.

So much beauty, wonder, and power is conveyed in the Name of Jesus. He humbled Himself to come be with us. And yet He has no rival and no equal. He will reign forever and His kingdom will have no end.

Jesus is awesome beyond comprehension, and yet so intimately personal. He touches my life and fills me with His essence. He walks on water, speaks to the sea, stands in the fire beside me. He roars like a lion, and bled like the Lamb. He carries my healing in His hands.

He laid down His life for all of us, and for me personally, demonstrating the highest and greatest manifestation of love. No greater love has a man than this, to lay down his life for his friends.

He suffered terribly and died, and then He rose again, redeeming and making meaningful our own suffering and conquering death. No longer do we need to fear our own death, because we know it's not the end.

No matter what I might be going through in life, including suffering, I can trust Him completely. Not only is He willing, but He is capable of working through the circumstances in my life to bring about His glory and my greatest good. All I need to be is still.

And like I wrote at the beginning of this post, all the great things in my life are nothing compared to knowing Jesus. I want to know Christ and the power of his resurrection and the sharing of his sufferings by becoming like him in his death, if somehow I may attain the resurrection from the dead. ~Philippians 3:10-11

Sort:  

Some of the ones that have gotten me through this tough season are: Casting Crowns "Oh My Soul", Mercy Me "Even If", Tenth Avenue North "I Have This Hope"...thanks for sharing! Blessings on your day!

I'm actually planning to post an article called Songs of Suffering and was going to include every one of those songs, I think. Feel free to beat me to it and I'll resteem :)

Amen, thanks for sharing this with us @wiser

Blessings..

Thanks for sharing! Bless you :)

beautiful song..thanks for sharing with us..praise the lord...hallelujah

Amen. Thanks for sharing @wiser. Indeed, nothing else and no one else compares to Jesus.

Here's another song I really like.

Thanks for stopping by!

Amen. Love the song "what a beautiful name." Will listen to the others I don't know. The verse from Philippians is very powerful. His Word is sharper than a two-edged sword. Thank you for putting together this post and for the selection of moving songs. Blessings to you and your family @wiser

Thanks for the encouragement and kind words :)

Beautiful songs! Praise the lord :D

Hey these are great! check out the ones from my website on www.incmedia.org =)

let's follow each other =)

and upvote too because this is cool!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jun 24. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $48.97 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 24 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64752.70
ETH 3455.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50