How do you feel about unsolicited advice?

in #life8 years ago

How do you feel and how do you react when someone gives you unsolicited advice?

Does the topic matter? For example, maybe you're OK with getting random tips about cryptocurrency, but you don't want advice from strangers about parenting.

Do you give unsolicited advice? How do people respond to you when you do?

Discuss :)

Sort:  

I don't mind about unsolicited advice. I am the kind of person that is open for a fiscussion on almost anything, so unsolicited adivice is just another door opening for me to discuss a topic with someone ^_^.

That's a great attitude to have. Do you ever feel judged or criticized by the one offering unsolicited advice? Sometimes I have a difficult time getting past that feeling, which makes it tough to be open to what the person has to say.

Sometimes, there is always someone out there who is willing to give their advice, and just be plain rude about it. They just want to bring people down to their own way of thinking, I guess. I tend not to give those people too much time. While being open minded about most things, and being able to discuss, I am also very good at shutting down and not responding very well to those who try to bend my will in a direction that I am not willing to bend.

There's definitely a difference between someone wanting to share useful information and someone trying to change you with their advice. It's the latter I have a hard time with, and I too tend to shut down in those situations.

I'd say it depends on the tone: if people are patronizing and/or are assuming you do not know (more) about the topic, that can be very annoying. I mostly ignore it and not support the conversation further because if they are strangers there is really no point trying to straighten them out (and a pretty small chance to actually get through) I just recently got some, and I just biked away :) without replying much of anything, though I was feeling mildly annoyed.

Keep up the great work @wiser
Upvoted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62641.44
ETH 3343.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47