Finances are not set in stone

in #life7 years ago

The project management platform where I and other people invested in the VIVAconomy have our discussions and collaborate on our projects has a few automatic check in type questions. The one I answer below is: Looking back on this week, what is your answer to the Ultimate Question of Life, the Universe, and Everything? Since it's a weekly question I figure I can focus on a different aspect each time I answer. This is what I shared today, and thought I should share it with my Steemit followers as well.

This week I've thought a lot about how truly fleeting one's financial situation can be. It really can change on a dime. One day you're broke and juggling bill collector calls and barely hanging onto your underwater residence, and then a few months later you're starting to think seriously about building that dream house. It could go the other way too.

How much money I have does not define me. I'm not any different now than I was when I had very little. And even poor Americans have it really good compared to a lot of people living in developing nations, although I think many times the people in developing nations have richer relationships and richer lives because they aren't always so tied to productivity, but that's another subject.

God is not bound by financial externals, like what job my husband or I have, the cost of living in our area, how much the mortgage payment is or any of those things. I used to think that we suffered financially because we chose to work in not so well compensated career paths (education, anyone?), or that the financial system was rigged against us (which it is), or we didn't work hard enough or smart enough, or any number of external factors people might give as reasons.

I now realize that God had us where we were financially for a reason. Perhaps so that we remember what it's like and can continue to have compassion on those in similar situations. Perhaps for other reasons. Whatever the reasons were, it was because in His wisdom He saw that would do Him and us the greatest good. Now our financial picture is shifting thanks to some really great cryptocoin picks a few years back, and with VIVA it's looking brighter and brighter each day. That's what I mean. It can change on a dime. All those circumstances that seemed overwhelming and impossible to us, where it seemed like there were no prospects ahead except more of the same grind... all so radically different. Just like that. Because at the end of the day, it's the Lord who gives and takes away. Blessed be His name!

Sort:  

Very well said. Even with my problems stacking a mile high, I still realize it could always be worse, and I still realize the more I suffer the better of a person I become. I think it's hard to truly understand the bad side of life without living it and experiencing it. I don't think I would appreciate the good nearly as much without the bad.

Suffering does have some amazing character building potential... if we are open to it. Hang in there, and thank you so much for stopping by. And welcome to Steemit (I see you are new here).

very well said. Everything has its purpose. Well articulated post if important things in life. You are right money should define who we are, or what are worldview, neither should it be the goal of life. Too much focus on it becomes a distraction from more important thing in life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64258.81
ETH 2772.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65