Random Act of Kindness

in #life7 years ago

Okay, this was a random act of kindness that was prompted by the indifference of others.

I was driving along a road in Glasgow one day when I noticed a disabled woman in a wheelchair. It was obvious from her demeanour that something wasn’t right, I slowed down and parked up ahead and noticed that four or five other cars had passed by, looking at the people driving I could see they had seen the same thing but didn’t stop.

I got out of my car and approached the lady in the motorised wheelchair and asked if she was okay, it was then I noticed that she had tried to steer the wheelchair over a bump in the pavement, but the wheelchair having these small guide wheels had gotten itself stuck and since the lady was obviously physically impaired she would never have gotten that wheel chair off the obstruction.

I asked if it was okay to help and she said yes please. So went around the back of the chair and lifted it slightly so the guide wheels could clear. She thanked me and was able to go on her way.

What bothered me was how long had she been stuck like that, and why would no one go to her aid? I was brought up to help others in distress and if I can I will. I certainly wouldn't drive on and think, ah someone else will sort it out.

I also like to think that if some one of my family was in that position someone would stop and help.

Sort:  

These are things I see daily where I live. In the bus no one rises, to give the seat to an elderly person. Or a few people help a blind man cross the street. They are values that have been lost ...

Good on ya dude. Its things like this that make a difference in the world. Small acts have big consequences

Cheers meesterboom.

I'm proud of my brother, well done!

Thankee kindly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61763.08
ETH 2899.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49