Yeah, I bet it does.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Saw this in front of me on the road about five minutes ago. I'm not entirely sure how to take this.

Sort:  

I mean, in a way it does. After all, if you don't support the police, do you think they'll have a problem violating your rights as a human being and/or causing physical injury to your person? I'm pretty sure they won't have a problem.

This sticker read like a veiled threat to me!

Yeah, pretty much.

That's low-key threatening with sarcastic undertones loll

Life depends on the decisions we take. We have to choose between good and bad

I don't disagree. I just find this bumper sticker a little bit tongue-in-cheek. If you read it the right way, it's almost as if it says "support us or else".

it is very beautiful

scary to say the least

The irony!

which city ?

Springfield, Missouri.

How is it not true? They're paid to protect people. If people don't pay them, don't expect protection. Seems reasonable to me. If you don't wanna pay for police, well, protect yourself then, but how many people are willing or able to do that? So ... support them, or your life might not be protected. Nothing wrong with that sticker.

Actually, the police in the USA are not legally obligated to protect you. At all. They are there to enforce broken laws, not to prevent them from being broken. The way I see it, if we're talking about my life being either protected or saved, I feel my life depends more on supporting EMT and firefighters, not police.

http://www.nytimes.com/2005/06/28/politics/justices-rule-police-do-not-have-a-constitutional-duty-to-protect.html

They are there to enforce laws, yes. And the laws protect your life, speech and property. So enforcing those laws means protecting you. Unless you are the one breaking the laws, in which case you wave those rights.

And the article you linked seems misleading, not uncommon for that publication, like pretty much all the others. That resolution seems to me in connection to the fact that the police did not respond swiftly to a court order for the guy to come within 100m. That did not happen, he went within 100m of her kids, which she seems to equate to property somehow? Now sure, the outcome is awful, but no law seems to be broken. That's not them not protecting someone's life, but not having sufficient evidence for an arrest.

Also, I think you should support EMTs and firemen too, don't get me wrong. But the police are there to enforce laws that guarantee your life is sacred and to be protected. Now whether you think some of those laws aren't good enough or something, that's another discussion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95