I need reminders like this periodically.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I saw a video that gave me some much needed perspective.

The video features the dad of a family asking the mom how her day was.
He gets her description of the day, which looks very stressful. Kids making a mess, crying, mom chasing them around trying to keep things balanced and moving forward - as moms & dads do, of course.

Then the dad asks his daughter how her day was, but she gave a very different answer.

So why do I need videos like this one?

Well, primarily because my son - who is probably about the same age of the little girl in the video - doesn't talk to us like that.
As I explained in my previous post about my son, he's just now beginning to scratch the surface of speech, so although he does answer very simple questions like "What's that color?", he still doesn't have the know-how to answer a more complex question like "How was your day?" He's getting better, even vocalizing what sounds like full sentence, but he's still having trouble with consonants.

So, in the context of being the parent of a child with autism, it becomes a duty in my job description to keep his perspective in mind at all times, because he doesn't have the ability - yet - to tell me himself.



Sort:  

This speaks volumes about what kind of man, and what kind of father you are. Thank you for sharing!

I sent this to my wife after I watched it. What a great perspective.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63780.55
ETH 2618.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82