You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hitchhiking Memoir Part 3, Sobriety, Warehouse workaholics, the BIG idea!

in #life7 years ago

You're a good storyteller.

I love what you said about resenting your stuff. I've moved on average once every two years of my life. I once had a library of 1000+ books, as all my dreams revolved around reading and writing. As soon as e-books came along, I realized I could just re-puchase anything I wanted to read again within seconds, and the cost would be lower than storing and moving all that paper, so the books have all gone to friends or library donation. And I've reached the point that everything else I care about fits into a hatchback.

Sort:  

Thank you! I have a whole bunch of this story left to tell... so keep an eye out... I will put part 4 up tomorrow.

Computers sure have made it easier to not have a bunch of stuff to haul around... books, movies, music... money. I like the cost analysis of re-buying digital books vs hauling books.

I kind of adopted a $20, 1 hour rule. If I haven't used something in over a month, and I can replace it for under $20 in less than an hour, I get rid of it.

Of course I grew up around hoarders, so I might be overcompensating in the other direction.

I love it... I am going to apply that to my place... which could use a bit of the 20/1 rule.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61904.94
ETH 2583.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57