Nobody Cares About Your Success - Getting over the Crab Mentality

in #life8 years ago (edited)

I've been trading professionally for the last 5 years, I've had my ups and downs and my 10,000 hours.

I've experimented with different kinds of motivation and found that motivating myself by pulling myself towards a goal is usually the most effective. However, sometimes we all need a little push to wake up and get as Napoleon Hill coined, a burning desire.    

I'm not targeting this at anyone, this is just a line of thinking I've used on myself to keep pushing when it was difficult to pick myself back up again…    

…I'm a grown man, if I go to war and die no one's going to give a shit, no sympathy, no one cares about my success apart from me. If I want to master something then I have to do it myself. Not only that but people will actively be jealous of my success, ridicule my efforts, laugh at my setbacks and try to pull me down in order to make themselves feel better or confirm their worldview. Like crabs in a bucket.   

Nobody is going to 'put me on the map' there are so many talented people in the world that are stuck doing mediocre jobs waiting to be 'put on' by someone else, you need to take action and think for yourself. Talent means very little, in some cases talent even hurts people as they relax in early life only to see others with more persistence and determination speed past them. As soon as a set-back occurs they have no idea how to handle it, it's almost a curse. It's all about determination and a relentless drive.                           

Magic pill thinking..   

In trading its equivalent to someone wanting to be taught all the secrets, the magic pill that will get them into the land of riches. To learn some nonsense technical analysis so they'll never lose money again. Not going to happen, no one gives a shit about you, if you want something, pursue it. If you're not willing to take shit from other people, do endless repetitive tasks, make sacrifices to hone your craft, tear yourself down then build yourself back stronger.. just give up and slink back into mediocrity.    

Pursuing any skill at the top of the game is incredibly hard work, either go at it 100% or pursue something else. Don't be like the average person when you get older, looking back at the good old days with cynical and bitter world views. Wake up! Don't slip into the zombie like consumer culture state that's so common in society.    

So decide right now, are you willing to go down the narrow road with hyper-focus, face all kinds of setbacks have a relentless drive or would you rather sit at home watching reality TV, whining about how unfair life is?  

Life on Steemit isn't quite as tough, nor should it be..

The way I see Steemit is similar to trading, except you're not trading 'things' you're trading ideas. It's not quite as brutal as trading in a zero sum game - but you have to put in the effort and hone your craft, looking to offer the most value you can.

There's a huge incentive to develop communities and help lift each other up, you just have to open yourself up to offering value. You're not alone, let's help grow the pie.


Influences   

The Narrow Road - Felix Dennis 

The Daily Trading Coach - Brett Steenbarger 

Think and Grow Rich - Napoleon Hill 

Outliers - Malcolm Gladwell  

Sort:  

Napoleon Hill, that takes me back, awesome book that was to listen to. Excellent little motivational post for my thursday morning. I couldn't agree more.

I'm going to have to read it a again, such a paradigm shifting book. Thanks @will-zewe

Truly my pleasure.

Helping each other helps ourselves.

The quickest way to 'lose' on Steemit is to narrow your view.
Even if none of your posts ever do well, you can still earn it big. Simply adjust your approach. You have tools for investing, for curating and even for creating feedback loops of followers. Use them wisely!

If others keep hitting the goldmines on the blogging side of things, ride on the coattails of their success through curation rewards or compound interest of your investments. We're not all born writers, nor are we all affluent investors. There's a mix and match for everyone, though!

Amen to that! One thing I like about Steemit is how it offers a mix of strategies, so you have the freedom to experiment and find an approach that fits your particular strengths.

And even if you 'lose', you still had valuable practice and lessons, for no net loss in monetary value. That can't be said for many other ventures!

Great perception. Nothing is promised to us, not even life itself. We have NO clue to what a day may bring so, I totally agree with your analysis--if you want success you have to endure the hard knocks of life, get over it, keep focussed on your goal at hand and Move On..
.

I am very new to steemit, but I feel it has a gold rush culture so far which is sucking me in. Have not found rewards yet, but I will definitely stick to it for a while as the idea is just brilliant!

If there's ever a time to dig deep and figure out how to present the value you can offer, it's right here, right now. Good luck!

Just don't let the rush get to fever ;)

Rush is good, fever is bad.

Are curation rewards even worth it though? I've managed to get in early on some pretty popular posts and it only amounts to a couple of cents in the end.

Theyre only worth it once you have sime steem power. My curation rewards last week were around $2-300. Which isn't too bad, if this really blows up those rewards could increase by several factors.

Oh wow, I didn't realize steem power was also tied to curation rewards. It sounds to me that minnows main focus should probably be on acquiring more SP via content creation before spending too much time on curating.

It's a balance, getting up power and popularity will be synergistic to your spot in the steemit network, and your earnings as a result of that :)

I agree, significantly more potential to help and be helped by others on Steemit, the reverse crab mentality :)

Yes. Less crabs, more delicious sashimi for all.

Great posting so far @wingz, I love your outlook and style. I'm a follower! ;)

And yes to this, helping people gives us a feeling of fulfillment.

Hello @spookypooky, can I ask how did you format the styles of your comment?

You can format comments in the same way you can format posts - through html and markup. I did a post on formatting and the value of it here, if you'd like to know more, it's a bit long to put in a comment! https://steemit.com/writing/@spookypooky/format-it-or-forget-it-2-minute-read (it also link to resources that might let you edit and preview your content, it's tremendously useful!)

"There's a huge incentive to develop communities and help lift each other up, you just have to open yourself up to offering value."

This is what I have been feeling about this platform all along, and I am glad someone agrees.

The differentiating factor compared to other social networks. Where genuine expression is more important than social validation.

Good points covered, I think this pretty much can be applied to anything in life. There are two categories of people who want it and who don't. The ones that want it, get it eventually, the ones who dont just complain about other peoples success by sitting on their couch. I think Steemit has given a huge incentives to not be lazy.

Don't be lazy and work smart. This is a playground for creativity and value. Have some fun!

Completely agree. Everyone I know who has truly yearned success has eventually found it (and all of them have had setbacks along the way). I think the Law of Attraction is also worth mentioning; being able to visualise one's goals can be a key step in reaching them!

Great insight, once we set our sights on something, either consciously or subconsciously we try and achieve it. As long as we have the drive to keep going. Good ol law of attraction

In life there are many falls! the most important thing - it is to know exactly what you want. You can not dwell on the past experience. Only forward!

It's all about the journey :P

Thanks for the pep-talk! Too many people are afraid of failure and so take no action to better themselves. What they don't understand is that failure is one of life's best teachers, and without it how would we have a yardstick with which to measure success? Tis better to try and fail, than to have never tried at all.

'The one who does nothing is never wrong' as we say back in my country.
Good motivational read @wingz , no beating around the bush and unnecessary sweetening!
Upvoting ;)

I think people have been conditioned by society to always want the quick fix, the new shoes, the new car, the magic pill... to really pursue something passionately you're gonna fall down a few times, it's what you do when you fall down that counts.

I agree!

What matters @wingz is that you are in everything you do.

I loved 'Outliers'! I'm gonna check out the other books you mentioned, thanks.

Think and Grow Rich is a classic, I'd recommend starting there, great book

Thanks, will do!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58551.10
ETH 2514.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35