My First African Drum Class

in #life5 years ago

Soon after returning from the Bahamas I noticed an ad announcing an African drummer would be coming to town to hold class. I guessed that the Junkanoo might have African roots so I reserved a spot and borrowed a conga from my daughter's elementary school. I made it to the class and the instructor, Malik Sow from California, had the whole class drumming within 10 minutes. I found the instructions to be confusing but that didn't matter because I didn't want to learn, I just want to hear so I began faking my way through the class. Toward the end of class, we were put into pairs to play what we had learned...uh oh! I failed miserably.

It was at this class that I meet Stuart Dinwoodie who had a class at the college. I learn that he had an advanced class and after listening to them play and that their goal was to do a CD, I became involved.

WaaSylla colored photo.jpg

WaaSylla Black and White Photo.jpg
William Dinwoodie, Crystal Bliss, Teina Lucas, Stuart Dinwoodie

We did the CD and debuted it at the Fine Arts Center with a show. I may try and put some of the recordings on a post if possible. This photo is of the Waa Sylla drummers. Waa means family and Sylla was the last name of the African teacher they went to Senegal to study under.

Mousa Front Cover CD.jpg
Cover art - Floyd Tunson, Red Dot Studios

WaaSylla with Mousa inside CD.jpg

My next post will be on D.tube and will be one of the rhythms from the show. The rhythm is called Kuku which is considered the newest rhythm coming out of West Africa. It's not quite one hundred years old. Many of the rhythms we play are real "oldie goldies".

Sort:  

drums are not my thing... haha .. cant keep rhythm even if my life depended on it.... beat it away !

That was the way it was for me also in the beginning.

Its cool to learn about your past and more about how the drums impacted your life!

It has been a fun journey and the friends I play with are like family...I guess you could say it is a bonding experience to play a rhythm. You commit to the group to do your part and with high energy. Getting the drums to reverberate is the best.

I look forward to hearing and of course the story that goes with it! You have a very interesting past, for sure!

!tip

I look forward to hearing the next post - what an interesting hobby!

You must have been an African musician in one of your past lives! Have fun!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Something bit me with this music for sure.

Nice lifestyle with music.

Always...kind of like a mini vacation.

I to look forward to hearing the dtube post but cool to hear how it came to be

Thank you. I just got the Dtube up. I had to do it three times...long story. Hopefully the mistakes I made I'm learning from.

Cool will check it later just waiting for my train

Congratulations @willowwisp! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 700 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 800 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

🎁 Hi @willowwisp! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Wednesday Walk Through The Cherry Blossoms Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61388.48
ETH 2984.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65