You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Run 100 miles (160.93K) For the curious, aspirational, or traveler that needs an excuse: my personal experience, gear list, and running plan.

in #life8 years ago

Its incredible what we can do when we push ourselves to the limit and believe in our own abilities. I ride alot and have cycled over 60 miles in a day and was beyond the point of exhaustion by the end . I cant imagine the mental strength that you must have to push yourself through 100 miles on foot . very very impressive. well earnt upvote.

Sort:  

@willbeonceagain8 One of the biggest things is proper nutrition before a big endeavor. Before the 100, I gained 8 lbs. carbo-loading and drinking myself silly with water. You can also do amazing things through the ketogenic diet through mobilizing fat for fuel, however that is too much work for me. Sometimes the body cannot go on if proper nutrition is not adhered to the week leading up. That said, if you hit your maximum that is awesome. Now you have a gauge to use in order to set new goals. I myself had a similar moment 112 miles into a 230 mile bike race due to drinking beer and eating a half sandwich the day before. Fuel is so important. If you are interested in this race next July, it may be a good goal for you. It's through an organization called Ride For Water http://paul-joung.squarespace.com/

Thanks for the advice and link, Will be very interesting to see how much further i can push myself on my next big ride after following your advice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64337.17
ETH 3175.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56