How to run a 38 minute 10k training plan: Track Tuesday

in #life6 years ago

Today's session was primarily aimed at integrating some speed back into my legs. So I headed out into no wind and a chilly 2 degrees to start my warm up of around 2.4k including stretches and strides. The warm up before the session is vital to prevent injury or strains

I began my running 1 x 2k in around 7:30 minutes (3:51/km pace) 

Then i did 3 x 1k at 3:38/km pace to get some more speed endurance gains.

Following on from this i did 6 x 400 at 3:29/km pace.

I regard this workout as a very successful one. I made sure to re hydrate afterwards and eat plenty of recovery foods. I would strongly advise this workout if your 5k is around 18 minutes. 

In regards to the wider picture, I believe after this weeks of training, I will be in great shape to run a sub 38 minute 10k in 2 weeks.

As always, if you have any questions leave them in the comments below and I will be happy to answer them.


Sort:  

Congratulations @will2000! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @will2000! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50