Abiqua Falls Trail | Oregon

in #life6 years ago

Hello again friends! It's been a while since I've been here. Having two kids under three takes up more of my time than I have in a day but I wanted to jump on here tonight and share about a hike we did today because it was that incredible.

Abiqua Falls | Oregon

94431079-CC23-4452-89E9-29D2C93DADCB.jpg

If you've never been to the PNW then you may not know that our waterfalls do not disappoint and there is an endless supply. If I could spend every single one of my days exactly how I wanted to, I'd spend it chasing waterfalls. No doubt! Abiqua Falls is located about 2 hours south of Portland and is neighboring Silver Falls State Park so you could easily spend the entire day wandering from one waterfall to the next. But lets get back to Abiqua. I had been hesitant to do this trail because I had heard (and read) that it was steep and slick and not ideal for families hiking with young kids. Since Hudson was in school today Lock and I decided we'd scope it out with our youngest to see how difficult it actually was.

IMG_2417_Facetune_07-03-2018-18-53-40.jpg

IMG_2407_Facetune_07-03-2018-18-29-55.jpg

As you can see, we made it to the falls safe and sound! Most of our photos from this trip are of the end because we focused more on video this time around. I started thinking about how difficult it can be to read about a trail online and understand if it will be easy or hard for you specifically. Opinions on trails are very subjective so I'm hoping a video vlog can help people see it for themselves. So stay tuned for that! The trail definitely had some steep spots that were a bit slick but you'll have ropes to hang onto as you wander through those tough spots. The last part before you get to the falls is very rocky and honestly in my opinion was the worst part because walking on uneven and sometimes pointy rocks is simply annoying. Once you get to the falls you'll have plenty of space to spread out and enjoy the view. Next time we go we'll definitely be bringing Hudson and will plan to spend the whole day there letting the kids play in the water and collect rocks.

310C8A35-6B87-44C7-8BEB-CBF0491A0F6E.JPG

Is it hard?
I wouldn't recommend doing this with kids if you aren't used to hiking with kids. However, it is definitely do-able. Younger kids will need to be carried unless they have done something like this before. I also would not recommend doing this if you have a hard time climbing uphill. Getting back would probably be a bit rough for you. Aside from those two things, I feel this trail would be pretty simple for most of you. Just be smart, be comfortable with your gear and use the ropes when you have them.

Getting there:
You will not want to rely on your GPS maps to get you there. You can enter Scotts Mills which will take you to Crooked Finger Rd. You'll want to head south on Crooked Finger for 9.5 miles until the pavement ends. Keep going on the gravel/dirt road for another 1.4 miles until you come to a brown wooden trailhead sign (that says nothing) on your right. Turn right and take that road another 2.5 miles (staying straight on that road) until you reach a closed gate. Park on the left. Chances are there will be other cars there! Note: this road is very washed out. It's not maintained so theres a lot of rocks, mud holes, ruts, briars and limbs etc. You'll most likely need to be in a higher clearance vehicle.

Sort:  

Great place!

It is beautiful!

Looks like a beautiful place and a real hike, not a stroll through a park. I like that.

It is definitely a real hike! But short and sweet. We loved it

The Falls look great. I agree waterfalls are very special. Water just keeps running using its power to push life forward all over the world!! We can't live without it!

They really are great!

Wow, what a beautiful place.. I like the fact that you bring your kids with you when you go on a hike like that.. It sounded like it could of been sketchy in a few places.. My knees probably would not be able to take it..lol Oregon is such a pretty state.. It's very different from the beaches in Florida that I'm used to. Thanks for sharing your fun fill day..

Oregon is so so beautiful! I love how much variety it has to offer as far as landscapes go. I grew up on Florida beaches but my happy place is definitely on a beach surrounded by big beautiful rocks and mountains which will be in my next post!

It's look calm and cold...

Surprisingly it was pretty warm! Well the air not the water lol

Wow, it is wonderful place.
I love it.
Thanks for your information.

Waterfalls are my favorite majestic spots! The shots are great, too! I feel guilty for being so lazy to hike sometimes, even if I just have to carry myself. Haha. Your baby is adorable and I bet he/she(sorry im not sure if hes a boy or shes a girl) will be so happy to see these shots when he/she is all grown up! <3

Haha thank you!! She loves it outside. And she was so excited to see this waterfall.

This is really amazing Abiqua Falls Trail ,,wow..beautifull capture,,,.and also like your cute baby ,,,thanks for sharing with us

Thank you! I'd say she's pretty cute too ;)

very cool, i like hiking a lot as well and the waterfalls seem to be fantastic!

We spend pretty much all of our free time hiking!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87