Internet fasting while stuck in a box

in #life4 years ago

I’ve decided that from today I’ll be doing a lite digital fast for at least 2 weeks in order to overcome certain addictions.

It’s not going to be a total fast. The idea is to cut out the things that I don’t find particularly productive or particularly enjoyable.

Those include (in order of severity):

  • YouTube videos
  • Really stupid smartphone games
  • Responding to messages to distract myself from other things
  • TV shows
  • Checking the news randomly
  • Checking crypto
  • Forcing myself to engage at Hive because I feel that I should.

I will allow myself 30 minutes in the morning, another 30 minutes in the afternoon if I had a productive morning, and then free reign after 8 pm if I had a productive afternoon. Rather lenient, i’d say, but during the fasting hours I’m going to follow it 100%. This should give me an extra 2-5 hours a day that’s not spent multitasking with YouTube which essentially destroys my ability to focus on anything.

Hive isn’t really the problem, it’s using it as a distraction without putting my heart into it. I’ll probably spend a lot of my non-fasting hours at hive.

I’ll allow for 10 minutes on messaging apps in the morning just to reply to people, and I’ll open them up from 8 PM when I feel like it IF (and only if) I had a productive day, otherwise I get 10 minutes to reply to people.

All other computer and internet activity will be work related.

I will check news every 2-3 days if I feel balanced enough to not let it distract me from my focus.

That means I’m going to spend a whole lot of time doing the following

  • stretching
  • looking for students
  • teaching
  • writing my novel
  • practicing guitar
  • exercising
  • cooking
  • recording (possibly)
  • meditating
  • studying japanese
  • reading
  • catching up with friends and hive after 8 pm

I just deleted all my stupid game apps in preparation.

This is going to be awesome!

43F0E08E24A04CA885A471BD1C88788B.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34