You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Last Words

in #life7 years ago

I'm so sorry for your loss, your father clearly loved you very much and worked hard to keep you safe... I must admit, that question is certainly tough to answer, not because I don't know the answer, but because I do and rather wish I didn't; if you understand my meaning. You cared well for your father in his final days, when he needed you, you were there. So I'm certain he was exceptionally proud of you, as you should be of yourself :)Though you miss him, don't fear as your life continues to hold it's shine for having known him for the time that you did. I like to believe that the light of those special people never truly dies; it lives on through us, in our memories, our thoughts, our words and our actions :)

My Father died in June 2016 from Heart Failure. I was with him at the end. I had to authorise the medical staff to turn off the machines and I did so without hesitation, because me and my Father were close. He was very strong in his intentions and had told me what his wishes were. he didn't want to linger on living only by a machine and so I knew exactly what to do... But it's a choice that still troubles me sometimes. The last thing I said to him was: "Stay safe Dad, I love you." The doctors were very honest with us and so I knew he would not recover from his condition, so I saved my prayers. Rather than pray for him to recover I thought that if there is anything after this life, another place that we go to when we die then my prayers would be only for him to find safety wherever he may find himself. I can accept him gone as long as he is safe.

We are both very fortunate you and I to have had fathers who loved and cared about us :) I've spoken to many who were not so blessed, with parents who sadly caused them more harm than good. So I always say an added thanks for being allowed that great fortune :)

Sort:  

"I like to believe that the light of those special people never truly dies; it lives on through us, in our memories, our thoughts, our words and our actions."

Hey, that comment really made me tear up. Thank you, @westley-nash. That's what I want to believe in too, that even though special people, like our fathers, have left our earthly lives, they will still continue to live through us. Their legacy will live on through the stories we tell, and through the unforgettable things they did in this world.

Thank you so much for sharing your story. I don't know who your father was, but I know he also left a mark in this world, and a great imprint to the hearts of many people whom he loved. I also know that he's proud of you, for being so brave to face such circumstances in life. My condolences, too. I can relate so much with you, because my father also did not want to live on by the use of the machines, that's why he wanted to end the suffering as early as the doctors can.

I know our lives now are a lot different than the time we still had our fathers by our sides, but you're right, life will go on. We just have to continue living each day with great hope in our hearts.

I pray that our fathers will find light and peace wherever they are now.

Most welcome @mind-candy and thank you very mucj for your kind words :) We did right by them and I'm certain they know it. One small step after the other, we can walk very far. I've found that while time may not always be a healer as such, it defintely helps us to see things clearer, To be able to look back on those good times with joy, and without the tears clouding our vision; that is the true blessing :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64071.08
ETH 2763.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66