I miss the SUN!

in #life7 years ago

sunshine.jpg
Img credit Science Daily

Hi guys how are you???

I hope you are doing well. As many of you know and as it is write in my description I am originally from the South of Italy but for job purpose since few years I am living in UK.

In those days several friends especially during the weekend are sending me their photos on the beach.. swimming... tanning theirself and of course I can only be jealous as honestly speaking last time I saw the sun... was 8 days ago.

I KNOW IT IS CRAZY but it is the true.. cloudy and raining the majority of the time and in here the average temperature I have is 15degrees when at home (Italy) they have already 28/30 during the night.

Since I was a little boy I have been told to cover my skin as the sun could create skin cancer but only if you spend too much time under the sun. It is proved that a bit of sun is good for you. It is good for your humour and your body.

WHY???

EASY! Because the vitamin D, which is made by our bodies through the action of the sun's UVB rays on our skin.
Our body gets the 90+% of vitamin D from the Sun and for whom doesn't know for what the VIT D is important for... well it absorb calcium, keep our bones healthy, and protect against serious chronic diseases later in life such as osteoporosis, Type II diabetes, multiple sclerosis and many common cancers.

OK OK now for sure you will ask yourself what a bloody veterinarian as me could know about it. The answer is that the hormones are similar in Human or in the animals. So lets explain why it is so important...

  • SUNSHINE boosts levels of serotonin - the body's natural happy hormone;
  • People in the UK are more likely to die of heart disease in winter than in summer, which is believed to be because of low levels of vitamin D (ref. British Medical Journal);
  • help to prevent the onset of diabetes
  • etc.

So guys as you can see VIT D is very important for our body and if you feel stressed or depressed before doing any STUPID thing, take a deep breath, check your bank status (avoid if is this the reason of your stress) and then ask some day off at work (if you are not working even better as you don't have to ask permission) and spend a weekend or in general a couple of day where the sun is... CHARGE YOUR BATTERIES and then you will feel again HAPPY.

What will I do?? Easy I am gonna go in Italy for a long weekend as I really need to charge my batteries and the only plan is to spend time on the sun.

Do it guys and then come back to me... I am sure that you will thank me for this tip ;)

Follow me and upvote this post if you like it... you will help me growing up on this amazing platform!

PS: This post has been created after few comments written in a @onceuponatime post that I suggest you to check :)

Sort:  

last time I saw the sun... was 8 days ago.

Being from Finland I know that feel. :D

it is horrible mate :(

So happy I escaped the UK a year and a half ago. I was suffering depression, especially the winter months so I guess it was partly Seasonal Affective Disorder. Living in the sun has brought a positive change to my life, and I even supplement with Vitamin D over the months where the sunlight isn't strong enough to provide any vit D.

well mate you know exactly what it does mean! Glad you are well now

Too right! Currently on my terrace listening to some tunes and trawling steemit!

you make me jealous mate! honestly. where are you now? Spain??? Here is raining again today...

Yep, sunny Valencia. It's about 24c currently so pretty perfect before summer kicks in and I'll be cycling to/from work in the mid 30s!

I know very well Spain and in particular that area! I was living in Murcia for 1 year :) Several English are going to Spain especially Alicante, Murcia, Mar Minor etc etc

As for me, i miss the snow but still prefer to be living in the land with sun all year round.

yes mate! better have the sun all the time and whenever you want the snow you can go where the snow is. The sun is a daily need...the snow is a "hobby"

mate check steemit chat :)

check mate or checked mate?

I live in Florida, and I think we sun-drenched peninsula dwellers think alike on this subject. I can sympathize... :)

Lucky you. I had a bit of sunshine yesterday afternoon after 10 or 11 days of raining ans clouds

I spent a winter in Germany and i could feel how sad life becomes when theee is not sun, so go go go...and go to the amazing Italy to eat like a king and get a lot of vitamin D

Ehehehhe I will do it thanks :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61911.99
ETH 2585.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56