How I was nearly losing 500 dollars

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Introduction

Funny story on how a newbie in crypto currency like myself was nearly losing 500 dollars. My experience could be used from others newbies that are here in Steemit and don't know how to cashout in fiat.

Of course if you know everything about it... jump on the last session of this post ;)


Situation

Last night I was going back home from Ipswich check this post and I saw online that there was a BTC-ATM on my way back home so I said... well I need money, so finally I can use my wallet to cashout and maybe to buy a present to my girlfriend.

All this was in my mind... I went to the shop where the ATM was, I toke the wallet and I have followed the instructions as was written online or as the machine was displaying or following the video tutorials on youtube.


Real situation

20170612_195353.jpg

20170612_195414.jpg

20170612_195445.jpg

As you can see from the photos you can follow up easily the steps and you can scan the code and transfer the money.

EASY NO?

Well remember that this procedure is not so quick and easy as look like.

Once you send the money to the ATM ( not considering that anyway the fees are giving you much less than the real price of a BTC) you have to select the option QUICK SEND that means that your order will be processed within 1h.

So if you had other plans you are fu**ed.

If you are unlucky like me... your wallet will not give you the option QUICK SEND... but AUTOMATICALLY will send the BTC in the slowest way.... it says 1H +.

What does mean 1+h? well yesterday like an idiot I was waiting for 1 hour and 40 minutes in the bloody shop chatting with the assistance (Thanks them I was feeling ok as I was thinking I have lost 500 dollars).

I told the guy in the chat that I couldn't wait anymore as my girlfriend was complaining so much I was in this supermarket for hours.


Conclusion

I went back home... it toke me another hour and once arrived I saw that finally the operation was confirmed. The shop was closing in 30 min so was pointless driving again back to the shop to cashout so I did ask a refund.

This morning I wake up early but after few hours I saw the money (of course less the fees) back in my account.

So guys before doing any operation like this... try to remember that it take time... several time and please pay a bit more fees so in this way you don't have to wait hours to cashout.


Last session

If you like my posts please up vote and follow me as your help will give more sense to my work ;)

Do you like me.png]

Sort:  

Congrats you have been selected as Author of the day by the Steemvoter (SV) Guild, keep up the good work and helping make Steem great!

Note: You should receive many guild votes in an hour or so, enjoy!

that's fantastic :) absolutely fantastic :) God save @steemvoter

Yeah ,what a story, now I know ,thanks to you 🙂🙂

:) happy to help ;)

Glad that you got money back 🙂

yes thanks God I had them back

This is good info. I would not have realized it took so much time.

it isn't write anywhere! That's why I have been there! It seemed to be straight away... at least in the youtube video

I've never used a Bitcoin ATM

was my first time

wow crazy styory man good post keep it up

cheers :)

You need to get a "shift visa card" I have one linked to my Coinbase account. It costed $10 in Bitcoin, 1 time fee, if I lose it, it would cost another $10. I can use it ANYWHERE that accepts visa! It has 0% annual fees, and 0% conversion rates!

that's interesting. Could you please link me that on steemitchat? cheers :)

cheers

the only thing is that it works with Dollars. I am in UK so every transaction I suppose will have a % of interest

i Like yours

thanks please follow me then :)

this a funny story!

Thx for your sharing! @webdeals

thank you for reading it

thank you for the warning that was very kind of you to share that notice with us thanks

You are welcome. I think that those info are not shared and it is important to know before hand.

We don't have ATM like this in Belgium and it's not possible to pay with btc in market, I use an exchange kraken to change my btc in €uro.

I know kraken but I don't know the ATM was making me feel more safe.

there is a UK company that is selling them... if u want I can give you the contact :) London is plenty of it.

people are not ready for that here ^^

ahahahah cmon you are the most Technologic country in Europe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43