Finding Your Passion Will Change your Life

in #life7 years ago

Growing up I wasn't interested in sports. I couldn't understand hunting either and how people could get excited about killing animals,when they already had enough food for themselves. So many of my family and friends lived to hunt. I shot 1 deer with a bow and one with a gun and I was over it.

Sure if my family didn't have food that would be great. But we had plenty food and hunters were always giving us game because they didn't eat it. They just liked to hunt. I am not saying that there is anything wrong with it. I thought something was wrong with me because I didn't enjoy it at all.

I joined the Army and ended up in California after my training. It didn't take me very long after my training to figure out that being in the military was not for me. But I did discover surfing and for me It had all the components that I am passionate about. I love to be in the ocean. I love to be out in nature without the motive of killing things. Just enjoying riding waves and being like a fish gave my life a whole new perspective.

Don't think it was easy being from Wisconsin and entering the Calif. surf scene. The surfers didn't like outsiders and they were very territorial. But I managed to learn to surf and end up over in Hawaii for several winters of surfing! I have been surfing for over 40 years now. I still enjoy surfing and the surfing community here in Hawaii is great.

I was even a lifeguard and got paid to surf everyday! Oh man it was so much work I had to surf 6 hours a day! I loved it!

You can find the things that you are passionate about by trying new things keeping an open mind about life, about love, about people. Life is what you make it. Its up to you to explore and find your passion. Yes I feel very fortunate that if you ask me if I want to go surfing I still have a burning desire to be in the ocean and ride waves. I believe that anyone can find this if you look hard enough with-in!

I am still searching for more things that I am passionate about. I keep learning and experiencing life! Keep searching never give up on yourself!

IMG_1363.JPG
Organic Oranges from our Hawaiian Orange Tree

For those reading my posts for the first time. My name is Rik Rodriguez I am a Surfer, Martial Artist Internet marketer, Gardener, Author that lives in Hawaii. You can check out more of my posts here Wavemaster

Sort:  

Congratulations @wavemaster! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi. Like you I am not as sporty as the others. But as time went by I found out that my passion is in cooking. My whole family loves and enjoy anything I cook. Maybe it is the love for them that makes the food satisfying.

That's cool. Good point. I find it's real easy to forget and let my passion be replaced by urgency. Thanks for the reminder.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60445.30
ETH 2331.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52