STEEM Censorship - the beginning of the end.

in #life8 years ago

I am sad about the fact STEEM power users can 'Block' posts based only on the base the Whales or other power voters don't agree with it. They can essential hide the post from all users.

I've been trying to escape Youtube with all of it's new censorship, and now I see I have not escpaed.


How is a blogger with less then 20 votes a post suppose to get anywhere?

Where is the 'de-centralized' part of STEEMIT?

I posted a fact-based blog on the color of ancient human skin color and was promptly 'Blocked'. I thought Steem users originated mostly from anarchist/volunteerism, free-minded people looking for an uncensored place to speak and share.

It would feel like a waste of time and energy to continue to post for content to only be filtered through the big players. I know STEEM is a new concept and maybe there are changes to come, I would like to hear from some of the users on this subject.

This is about the BEST way to kill STEEM and needs to be looked into.

Sort:  

I think that many people read a title , never read any content and just act upon it. I noticed translucent blog posts but I didn't know what that was about.

Yes, i think that is what they are doing.
Translucent means they are 'hidden' because of too many down votes.

I am a questioner. Asking questions can expose IF you are in a rigid authoritarian hierachical structure/system cause you will get ejected. MOST if not all online forums do this. They have mods who can eject you if you 'cause trouble'. They can (and I have seen this) provoke people, and break the rules, but have the power to 'disappear' you, and even though an 'ejected one' may get re-instated the very fact they can do this creates a climate of oppression over the forum, and people will begin to self-censorship. So these places are like little worlds reflecting the big one

First things I heard of Steemit was that there wasn't ANY censorship. But is your experience exposing this as a false claim?

HOW do you know Whales can hide the posts from all other users?

I am dead curious; what are you claiming was the colour of ancient human skin colour?

STEEM voting system works of votes/flag system. You can only vote or flag if you have enough STEEMpower and your power determines how much your vote with give in $. It's not whales in specific as I stated, but whales have undoubtedly the most steem power.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65520.16
ETH 2652.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87