WATCHING PEOPLE LIVE

in #life6 years ago

So I went for a wedding today. A friend of mine invited me to watch his sister get hitched to the love of her life. Well I got there in time for the reception. The wedding held in another town, about 50 minutes drive from my hideyhole.


bride-690292_1280.jpg
pixabay: Free-photos


Anyway, I watched mostly the guests at the wedding. I watched boys who should be in boarding school, drinking liquor and muttering about huge sums of money. They had dyed hair and tattooed skin and they wore sports wear to a wedding. Go figure.

I watched girls with sagging breasts sway about without bras, their face made-up with enough foundation to start a duplex. I watched a pastor with his teenage wife and I wonder at those who would call her mama, as church members are wont to do.

I watched a man dressed in T-shirt and shorts as if going for a stroll, get up to the dias, where the groom and bride sat, to scatter naira notes all about their person. I listened to the master of ceremony hail him and I wondered to myself. Yes I wondered.

I saw people stare, their eyes darting hungrily about, waiting for the food to be served or the drinks. They are there, hoping to either get high or get full like me. I watched them all.

I watched a man who had been invited to the high table, refuse it. he would rather sit outside with his friends and gist. I didn't blame him, the high table had no fan to circulate the air.

I watched the groom stand at the booth of a car and bring out the drinks, while telling a friend how he wanted them distributed. He would not let anyone else do it.

I watched the pastor's wife leave with a man who would never carry his own wife's bag, carrying her bag containing two bottles of wine and I wondered.


I wondered at the foibles of man, the weakness of fear that we hold dear. I wondered at what we consider to be important and what we considered to be truth. Mostly I wondered at the couple; how long would they last? How long will the match of love hold out? I wondered and I also drank, ate some and even took some pics which you will never see.

Well that's how my day went. I am in a bus, waiting for it to fill up so I can get back to peace and quiet. Lovely day to you.

©warpedpoetic™, 2018

Sort:  

You can wonder and watch, but nothing to contribute to it or even try to change it. Resolutions, decisions, events... they all go very fast, pass our judgement because we know only the fragments. Gloomy like always, still like your writing.

~ #steemrepair


This account curates for the @steemrepair and pulls two trails. You've been upvoted for your quality contributions to the Steemit community. To join this initiative follow Steemauto curation trail. Use tag #steemrepair to qualify for a possible reward upvote.

Indeed I can not contribute nothing to it as I do not know the whole story behind each and every scene.

I am still on my way home. We are still on the highway and the sky has darken. Music keeps me company.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Hi @warpedpoetic!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.895 which ranks you at #4011 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 7 places in the last three days (old rank 4018).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 239 contributions, your post is ranked at #121.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63099.62
ETH 2555.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83