You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Tunnel. A Real Life Horror

in #life6 years ago

The fear of this drive was intense. I remember feeling that same fear getting back out on the road again after my accident. For me the fear was walking by and open road after I had been hit as a pedestrian. To this day I still I'm a little nervous if I approach the berm of a road. My boyfriend, kindly, understands this and walks on the outside. You did a wonderful job of maintaining your calm and composure and spite of the deep trauma that you had just suffered. I'm just so sad that you had to go through this ordeal and I am thinking and praying for you and for the young woman who was cut out of the car.

I'm so happy that you have your person who talked to you through that initial drive through the tunnel. It's like entering into a hell hole!You are much stronger for having continued on and even driving for 5 long hours through desert and no cell service! I've known what that was like until just last week when I went to visit Arizona and we drove from Phoenix to Las Vegas with a stop at my dad's and Parker Arizona. I've never seen so much open dry land and Sagebrush, cactus and Mesquite trees.

I'm glad that writing is cathartic to you and please know that we are all here cheering you on through your healing! Prayers!

Sort:  

It literally felt like a hole into hell. The funniest thing was in the crazy and horror slathered thoughts that flashed during that time, I had a brief thought of the Poet Dante Alighieri, and how he must have gone through something this traumatic in order to imagine Hell so clearly to write Dante's Inferno.

The cacophony of thoughts and images during moments of high stress is remarkable and peculiar. It seems nonsensical- why in the hell am I thinking about an Epic Poem in the place of my almost death But to the mind it makes perfect sense- it is what the mind needed to play in order to not completely go insane...

Thank you so much hun. That really means a lot <3

You are amazing to be able to talk yourself through this time... I wasn't sure about my fears or what to expect after that accident. I've had other equally traumatic events in my life with a 20-year abusive marriage, somehow you sequester those thoughts and feelings in a safe place during a marriage like that. But a car accident of that caliber that you experienced I can witness it in my mind's eye and I just can't imagine what it would be like to be in it. Take care, beautiful.

Thank you love <3

My pleasure! I am praying for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57960.12
ETH 2482.73
SOL 155.31
SBD 2.43