My Tribute

in #life6 years ago

My Tribute

Today we celebrate the life of an amazing woman; Arlene O'dell Harpster. November 19, 1941.

Her loving influence has always been the cornerstone of my heart. She gave unselfishly to anyone who needed her. If help was needed, she was there, too.

Arlene's mind ran deep and her ability to analyze and interpret people and situations was uncanny.

She was gentle to all creatures and loved frogs. She raised me, my brother and sister to respect living things and life. Life is, after all, a gift.

Arlene had musical talent and taught herself to play guitar. Some of my fondest memories consist of mom playing the guitar and singing in the living room. It is from her that I learned the importance of the written word. She was forever writing in notebooks and she wrote poetry. She often said her dream was to go off to live in a cabin in the woods and just write her novel.

Arlene taught us about family connection. She wrote frequently to all of her sisters and to her parents and friends. Back before we had computers and instant messaging and text messages she went through volumes of paper to keep in touch with the people that she loved. I learned to do that and I followed suit as soon as I was old enough to do so. Stamps were one of the most precious commodities in our household.

She wasn't perfect, none of us are. She tried to be a fighter and did a great job for many years. She was diagnosed with lupus and thus began medications and side effects. One almost made her go blind. She stopped using pharmaceutical medications and began self-medicating. Through her life, she also battled depression. Her choice of self-medication was alcohol.

Arlene chose to leave this earth far too soon. She was 56; the same age I am. Her suffering ended that day on June 14, 1997. Ours began. I know now she never intended to hurt me, or us, but anyone who has ever considered suicide must know that the scars left behind are deeper and longer than any other death we may experience.

Any thoughts of her run deep and bittersweet, but floating up above it all is the deepest love I've ever known and I am grateful for all the blessings and gifts that I was granted for knowing this woman for the time frame that God permitted.

Thank you, Mom for your love and examples. I miss you today and always. I wish there were more souls like you in this world.

Happy Birthday in Heaven, Mom.

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for one month!

Earn free cryptocurrency through mannabase
join here and free Sweatcoin ... It pays for walking
referrals earn free coin, too!

Sort:  

What a beautiful tribute to your mother <3 I can feel the love you have for her when I read your words!

Thank you very much, and I'm glad it comes through so well. I was blessed. ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

Today I am trying to catch up on some Steemit reading, and came across this tribute to your mother. She sounds like a loving, intelligent, creative person. I'm so sorry her life ended so soon. My mother was a letter-writer, too, and so was I for many years. Now I send emails!

Thank you for choosing mine to read... And I'm happy that you were able to read about my mom. She had so much to share and so from time to time I feel compelled to remind the world that she was here and left her mark. Letter writing is a true gift to pass down to a child and it's so missing in today's generations. Have a wonderful day!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by wandrnrose7 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hello @wandrnrose7, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

thank you very much for this support.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64884.95
ETH 2619.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82