Is There Any Value In Being Honest?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I have been working in marketing and sales for over a decade and I am socked at the level of dishonesty right now. Maybe shocked isn't the most accurate word. I guess I am disappointed. Dishonesty seems to be the industry standard right now. 

When I worked in traditional media, my specific goal was to sell as much radio advertising as possible. My second goal was to try and make it work for each client.  

When I worked in digital sales and email rentals, my specific goal was to get as much money from the client as possible for each send. It didn't matter if it worked for them or not.

When I worked in affiliate marketing and copy writing,  I was told to be truthful, but bend it as far is it will go without lying. I was told that was how you are successful when writing copy. I would have to try and bend the truth to get people to buy or donate. That isn't right and I didn't stay at that job long.

I say, "when" because all of that is in the past. I am now running my own small media company and have found that being honest is the best way to due business. Not just honest, but very forthcoming with any pitfalls or additional pricing.

Consumers want to know exactly what they are going to get and exactly what it will cost them. Business owners want the very same thing. 

In a world where almost nobody trusts politicians, special effects and fake news, there is a real opportunity for the honest marketer to gain a foothold in the marketplace. Not only does it get people to actually trust you in a time when trust is in short supply, but it also cuts down time dealing with complaints and hate mail.

So if you are doing marketing, sales or really anything in life, understand that being honest isn't only the right thing to do, it is also the most effective way to promote yourself and your products.

(all gifs from www.giphy.com)

How important is honesty in your life and in business?

To my followers, you the megaphone at my protest rally. 

Sort:  

On a personal level, I agree with you 100% yet the reality is that dishonesty is profitable for a lot of people. I have always struggled to understand the "why" of that. Props to you for walking away from a job where borderline dishonesty was seen as an accepted and even expected business practice.

Thank you for the reply. I appreciate it. There are a lot of people out there that fall for a sales pitch. It can be easy money if you know what you are doing and don't mind ripping people off. I just don't want to do that... at all. lol. Thanks again for the reply.

I used to say, doing business with any sort of dishonesty is one-time-job.
Doing it with honesty it might seem like a longer and harder path. It may even cause you to miss some sales or closing the deals, as somebody else would sell some attractive shiny lies, but in a long run it's like building long lasting relationship on a very solid ground.

I agree! Honesty will build a nice foundation, but it is not easy. Thank you so much for the reply and think you are right on track. Honesty is the way to go.
You got a new follower.

Thank you for the follow! 🙂

I prefer to get all my information and news from sources that I have never once caught lying to me. This weeds out a lot of common sources of information, including major media and politicians. And you are on my list of reliable sources of information @walkingkeys!

Not only does it get people to actually trust you in a time when trust is in short supply

Very true. Not many people are forthright with their trust these days.

Great post :)

Thank you so much for your reply. I think you are right. Trust is low these days.
Thanks for reading.

In the long run, the honest (business)person is always gonna build the most trust and support.

Stay in honor it always pays off even if you lose. BTW: the are the words that I enjoy reading :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62471.79
ETH 2621.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56