I Might Actually Beat Gary Vaynerchuck's 2017 Flip Challenge

in #life7 years ago

At the start of the new year, Gary Vaynerchuck challenged his listeners to the #FlipChallenge and I had a huge day. What is the #FlipChallenge? (aside from the reason I have not been on Steemit all day)

Basically Gary Vee showed people how to make money going to garage sales and to the dollar store and then flipping the product for a profit. 

Here is the video where Gary Vaynerchuck explains the challenge.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>


So my goal this year is to make $20,170 from selling products I buy at garage sales or deals I can work to sell other people's products. 

Through May this year, I had made just over $1,000 in profit from selling some stuff I found at garage sales, some video games and systems that I had and some collectables. Not bad, but no where near where I needed to be.

Then I landed a huge deal. I variety store on Main St. in a small town in Virginia had closed down and a friend and client of mine asked if I knew anyone that could sell all the stuff inside? I jumped at the chance and I have had two sales so far and one was today. 

I promoted this one better... actually made my own video to help promote. Don't laugh at me doing the announcing. 

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

The first one I cleared about $700 and then today was a good day. Huge sale and racked up over $2,500! My total is around $5,000! I have another sale like today in August and one in September.  Then all the holiday stuff will be on sale in October. I've only sold about 5% of the total store, so I think I can reach my goal by the end of the year.

The video actually got me a huge crowd today. I posted on Craig's list and did one Facebook post and shared it on a couple of yard sale groups in the area. Totally crushed it today. Good day.

I didn't think I would ever come that close to the challenge, but after today's sale and knowing how much more stuff I still have to sale, I think I can do it by the end of the year. What do you think Gary?


MORAL OF THE STORY

Jump at opportunities and look for them. Put your self into positions to succeed and when you have an opportunity that might be outside your wheel house, just toughen up and do it. It can be a lot of fun... and rewarding.

Let me know if you are in the Flip Challenge or if you are a fan of Gary Vee in the comments below.

(all gifs from www.giphy.com)

If you don't know Gary Vaynerchuck, you should really check out his YouTube channel... 

To my followers you are the fortune in my cookie. You give me guidance!


Sort:  

awesome, I've gotten a bunch of amazing things off craigslist for free here in San Francisco but it has all been for personal use. i've been considering flipping things, and this might have given me the encouragement to do so!!

I normally do things for me personally too, but this is a fun way to make some extra cash. Go for it. It takes some work but it is a lot of fun and can pay off. Kinda like Steemit. lol

I so need to do this... seems like a heck of a lot of work. Wish you the best of luck. Be sure to keep us all posted on how you are doing!

Thanks man, it is a lot of work, but fun. I work at hone on the computer all day, so getting out to do stuff like this is fun for me. I'll update. Thank you for reading and replying.

Lol, that is awesome. thank. I am following you now and just went and voted and commented on one of your pictures. Nice to meet you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56716.01
ETH 2322.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38