You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Newest Illustration -- Bob Marley (Start To Finish)

in #life8 years ago (edited)

please jpiper tell me what kiddarko is saying is not true, Im bringing an expert to determine if what he's saying is true, since I dont know much about this issues, and please remove all your downvotes to the comment section so that people can judge for themselves

Sort:  

What kiddarko said that was incorrect was that it was EXACT. It is not even close to EXACT unless you are talking to a 3 year old that thinks their coloring book color is entirely in the lines and looks great. Then they get older and wonder... how did I not see how out of the lines it was....

In his overlay images it is obvious they are not exact. I am all for steemcleaners, but if people are going to use absolutes like EXACT then there better be no discrepancies. There are discrepancies there.

As to the down voting comments... You've heard me before and you know I prefer to address people with comments, not flags. I will support steemcleaners, but I will not support witch hunts on people. This example from kiddarko is flawed.

You are wrong, read the comments, what he said was "I copied the shapes based on tone and the angles and the shapes and angles match up the the original in an almost perfect mathematical fashion. as a matter of fact the angles and placements are exact."

They are not. The shapes differ slightly... Look at the shading above the eye on the left side. They are similar but the shapes are not quite exact. It is a false statement. I am right. You are wrong. ;)

When a person says EXACT all you have to do is find cases where it differs for that to be a false statement. Check out the soul patch (dark hair below the lip) in both images. Similar, yet the pattern differs. Same is true of the moustache on the right side of the image. They are close... yet not exact.

There are definitely places where the shapes ARE nearly identical. There are also places where the variations are there but subtle. So it is not exact.

However, let's assume it WAS exact.

  1. He cited the source and the original... He even showed it in his post.
  2. He claimed he used its face for inspiration.
  3. He recolored it...

Sorry this is NOT plagiarism and is not him claiming the original is his. He even supplied the original so no one had to go hunt for it.

There are many of those shadings for lighting and shadow that are very nearly identical. There are others that are not. So it is not EXACT.

I know quite a few artists. I also remember sitting in art class and being told to draw something, or have seen drawing classes where you need to duplicate a piece of work you are looking at. This is common. It is also NOT plagiarism since the original source he was using as a reference was provided by him.

This is a FALSE flag.

I'll prove it to you... give me a few minutes to make an image showing you some of the discrepancies and notes I found.

Not even close to exact... false flag, false statement. You guys were wrong to flag this post.

Thank you my friend, unfortunately it's too late. Steemit is becoming a joke like every other social media. It was only a matter of time.

I don't usually quit. So I still fight for steemit. Also even if you only made $0.40 on a post... that is still more than the $0.00 somewhere else. I try to focus on the silver lining when I can. I argue with people when they act like they did on this post simply in an attempt to make change. I don't call people names, I just challenge them with as much thought as I can. I know nothing changes by doing nothing.

As to avoiding this stuff... key for you. Don't do anything derivative. Just do purely 100% original work based off of photos YOU or FAMILY took and not off of something that exists. Then there will not be much to call you out on.

This is so stupid.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56787.81
ETH 2507.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24