Not everyone wants to be saved; Not everyone cares the way you do

in #life7 years ago

This year has been full of lessons, and top of the list is that not everyone cares the way you do; not everyone wants to be saved.

In the past I have spent a lot of time and resources on people who did not mind the situations they were in, this year was the year to change that.

*For this post, I use the word broke to mean one who can barely sustain their needs.

Case in point: ever met someone who is perpetually broke? Many, I bet. This group is further divided into those who want to improve their situation, and those who gave up and are comfortable in their current states. The latter are a difficult group to be around. Weirdly, they are always the ones who want to attend the most parties, go on all the trips, wear the latest clothes...

I have met a number of such people in the past and I can say for a fact, they are mistakes I am not willing to make again.

BTW this is not to mean being broke is a bad thing or that it only happens to some people. Being broke is okay and normal, but it is NOT normal to be attached to poverty. Also, if one likes poverty so much, they should act like it. No?

I gave the money allegory but this is applicable in basically every dynamic in life.

So, I am now more committed to hanging out with people who add (some) value to my life. I also do not mind helping those who want to be better people any way I can.

Cheers to making better decisions!

Sort:  

I guess people are ashamed of saying they are broke so they try to live to a life they cannot sustain hence the cycle of poverty, it is said "If you want to drive a rolls royce don't hang out with Toyota drivers"

There is this group that's outright lazy and still wants to have a good time 😢😢those ones will drain all your energy.

Congratulations @wachera! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

When it comes to being broke, I feel that there are people :
1). Who can't pick themselves up because they are depressed.
2). Who get money but they waste it and make bad decisions.
3). Who work hard but they have bills to pay so they end up broke.

I think you are talking about no 2?

Great points @jeanwandimi.

I'm talking about a group whose "things" are not working and instead of finding new ways to survive, they maintain their lifestyles and have others bear their burdens. I don't know if you've come across such, but I have. It is funny at first cuz you're "friends", but then with time it gets heartbreaking. The biggest problem is, they don't think that's a problem 😏

Weaning off people because they are not adding value. Those people who keep taking is so painful for us especially because we are taught we meet everyone for a reason. But in the end I have come to realise that maybe that only exists in my head. So weaning off is a must. Surround yourself with people of like mind, who challenge you. And financially, try to be in a group that exhibits similar or better spending habits than yours. We are all learning and there is no need to go back.

You put it way better than I would. Yes! I am hoping the universe connects me to people with better spending habits than me, those with more business deals than I do, those who are more knowledgeable than I am... I need a new system all together. Thanks for your lovely input, Mutitu.

We DO meet all people with a purpose --it's just that the purpose of meeting some people, is learning to let them go. ;)

Detachment is the name of the game... 😉😜

Wow, those are hard word right there... And totally true words, also.

"Tell me who you hang out with and I'll tell you who you are"?

Sort of, so that kind of people are unnecessary additions...

I loved the kitty BTW. xD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62800.25
ETH 2449.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57