๐Ÿ’•๐“ ๐““๐“ช๐“ฝ๐“ฎ ๐”€๐“ฒ๐“ฝ๐“ฑ ๐“›๐“ฒo๐“ท๐“ฎ๐“ผ๐“ผ๐“ฎ๐“ผ (Original GIFs and narration)

in #life โ€ข 7 years ago (edited)

lioness3_1024x768.jpg

Merely 5 feet away, a real lioness eye to eye
with our lioness (my wife!)

Do not believe me? Read on to see how this happened...


My wife and I were so hooked on 'the wild' that practically every Saturday/ Sunday during the winter of 2014, we were in some wildlife reserve. Trips to Pilanesberg were as frequent as going to the mall. My wife, a pleasant Lioness (after her morning cup of tea!), never failed to attract Lionesses coming out to meet her in any preserve. I do not know if it has anything to do with her being born a Leo but she has crazy luck when it comes to meeting Lions (not calling myself one!! I mean real ones)

It all started with this particular experience which I am about to narrate. Having entered the Pilanesberg wildlife reserve early in the morning, we lazily wandered all around, spotting a rhino here and a giraffe there. By mid afternoon, the sun was blazing hot and most of the animals had retired to some shady spot or other. We, too, were planning to get a bite to eat... Everything was calm and quiet. Suddenly ...


๐“ ๐“ต๐“ฒ๐“ธ๐“ท๐“ฎ๐“ผ๐“ผ ๐“ช๐“น๐“น๐“ฎ๐“ช๐“ป๐“ฎ๐“ญ ๐“ธ๐“ท ๐“ธ๐“พ๐“ป ๐“ต๐“ฎ๐“ฏ๐“ฝ...

She was about 15 feet away and walking straight towards us. I braked and we just sat in our car - mesmerized. Sweat beads formed on our brows. The lioness did not break her stride and walked straight towards our car. What was her intention, we wondered. Feeling reasonably safe in our car, we tried to relax and wait.My wife fumbled with her iPhone to unlock it...

I could not fathom if she wanted to take a picture or call someone to scream for help. A lioness that she is at heart, it was probably the former. I just sat there, looking at the two lionesses look at each other and letting my camera shoot the strange encounter.


๐“ฃ๐“ฑ๐“ฎ ๐“ถ๐“ช๐“ป๐“ฌ๐“ฑ ๐“น๐“ช๐“ผ๐“ฝ...

The lioness looked straight into our eyes for a second and without breaking her stride again, whirled majestically to her left. She passed within 3 feet of our car. I could not even film her without getting the side view mirror of my car in the frame. You can see the side view mirror of the car just as the lioness passes by it towards the right of the frame.


๐“›๐“ฒ๐“ธ๐“ท๐“ฎ๐“ผ๐“ผ ๐“ฒ๐“ท ๐“ฝ๐“ฑ๐“ฎ ๐“ฏ๐“ป๐“ธ๐“ท๐“ฝ...

Skirting our car and continuing in her royal rhythm, she passed the front of our car. Once again, she was so close that the white bonnet of my car filled half of the frame as I filmed her. Hands shaking with excitement, I mumbled something unintelligible, my lips and throat totally dry. My wife just grunted, oblivious to my mumbling - her eyes fixed on the lioness.

๐“๐“ญ๐“ฒ๐“ฎ๐“พ ๐“ต๐“ฒ๐“ธ๐“ท๐“ฎ๐“ผ๐“ผ...

Finally, after moments, which seemed to pass so slowly that they felt like hours, the lioness walked away - towards the Mankwe river. Perhaps she was looking for a drink in the blazing heat. Perhaps she had plans to stock impalas who were flocking near the river - who knows? Even my brave-heart lioness could not dare to go ask the real lioness!


Have you had close encounters of the wild kind like this? Please share your experiences in comments. Thanks.



All the photos and GIFs created by me from original video taken by me with Sony Handycam. GIF making is a new skill I learnt recently :)



Please feel free to check my other recent posts on my Africa experience:

Photospeak #2: African landscape...

PhotoSpeak #3: On the Road...๐Ÿ˜Ž

Bathing Beauties: Save Water๐Ÿ’ง, Elephant ๐Ÿ˜ Style

๐Ÿ…ด๐Ÿ…ฝ๐Ÿ…ณ๐Ÿ…ฐ๐Ÿ…ฝ๐Ÿ…ถ๐Ÿ…ด๐Ÿ†๐Ÿ…ด๐Ÿ…ณ: Ground Hornbill - Please spread the message

upvote follow resteem.gif

Sort: ย 

Oh wow @vm2904! Such a close encounter with the beast! I have never experience it in my life and i don't think i wish it! Hahaha! Too scary for mei indeed!
I would have taken the car and drive away like crazy for sure!
Cheers
@progressivechef

This is both incredible and scary at the same time! You guys had your windows wind up tightly, yes?
As far as I can understand, lioness usually is the one who hunts, and sometimes they might be more than 1 there. So it was good that you didn't try to approach her!
upvoted for your bravery (to film it!)

Oh - It was not all that bad. We are supposed to keep windows rolled up tightly all the time as per the reserve regulations. Thanks for taking the time to visit and your words of appreciation

Excellent work dear friend @ vm2904 congratulations for this great experience
Have a great week

Thank you so much for your appreciation. Wish you a great week ahead too.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by vm2904 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Another great post. Very enjoyable to read and watch.

Thank you @donkeypong. It is truly a big pat on the back to hear your nice words. I am trying to find time and post as well as read and appreciate nice posts from Africa. It is very close to my heart. Your visit to my blogs gives me encouragement to put in even more efforts

I have never and hope I will never. Hmmm

Nice pics I liked them !! @vm2904

I've always felt like a lion, haha...
kitty lion gif.gif
Love the pics...

And the Header Font You chose was amazing....
Pray tell, how did you incorporated that in to your header?

My voting power is completely diminished right now, but i am following you for future posts....

Peace!
Steem Trust Meme.jpg

That is so much great @vm2904

She is BEAUTIFUL! And I love your formatting!

Thank you. I have been trying to learn to make my posts visually better. Thanks for your kind words of appreciation

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58157.69
ETH 3122.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42