Lions in the making... A cub's life (Original photos and content)

in #life7 years ago (edited)

"I have the heart of a LION, the strength of 10, and the DESIRE of 1000 men!" – Time For War ...

Lion, the fearsome king of beasts, gets to be one after a fierce initial battle with life. I have had the privilege of seeing some little cubs grow up (some in the wild and some in captivity), in my years in Africa. Though I would not be able to say that I was a witness to their entire story, I feel happy, that I caught some glimpses of it. I saved those glimpses in my heart forever.

Brave hearts - Surviving 60-70% mortality rate:


(Photo taken by me with Nikon D3100)

Lion cubs face challenges from the day they are born. The first threat they face is from their own kin - male lions of other prides find and kill cubs which are not their own. Even in their own pride, if there has been a change in leadership of the pride, the new young male lion leader kills cubs fathered by his predecessor. Hyenas, Blue backed jackals and Leopards are the other ever present threats that these young lions have to face. Lion Cubs are born blind and are solely dependent on their mother for protection. The lioness keeps her cubs in isolation, from her own pride for 6-8 weeks.


Mighty Lions today, they remain cute cubs forever in my memory:

(Photo taken by me with Nikon D3100)

lion cubs1-IMG_2239.jpg(Photo taken by me with Nikon D3100)


Finally: This KING of fitness - performing yoga while his clan sleeps...


(Picture taken by me with Canon SX50HS)
One early morning, as we drove out of Skukuza in Kruger, we noticed movement in the early dawn light at the extreme range of our vision. Curious, I pulled out my camera and focused in, at extreme, grainy image zoom range, to see this comic cub, striking yoga poses while all his clan members snored away zzZZZZZZZZZ....

I am sure he is the Leader of his pride today. No other cub in that pride had such Initiative and Drive :)


If you like these cubs in particular and wildlife in general, please spread the message of wildlife conservation. Help preserve habitats!

upvote follow resteem.gif

steemit1.png

Sort:  

Lions the kings ..cute baby lions..thank you

Thank you for your encouragement

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by vm2904 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

So Cute lion baby <3 Upvoted Visit my wall when you free thanks alot dear @vm2904

Extraordinary work dear friend @ vm2904, very interesting, thank you very much for all this information and the beautiful photos
have a beautiful day

Thank you for your encouraging words

Beautiful and cute cubs! Up and resteemed!

Thank you for your kind encouragement and support

Beautiful photos! Up and resteemed!

Beautiful photos and great article!

Thank you very much for your appreciation of my article. I liked your blogs too. Will take one more look

I think it's a very pretty picture of baby lions drinking water.
Unless you really care and observe
I would not be able to get these pictures.

Thank you so much for your observations,

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62084.99
ETH 2415.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62