Float, Sting.. What is your Strategy for life? (Original Photos and thoughts)

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Float like a butterfly, Sting like a bee - Mohammed Ali (Boxing Legend)

A philosophy fit only for boxing ring ? Not for life?
1floatStingbutterfly_1024x768.jpg

Do you believe that this simple philosophy should be applied to life - like Mohammed Ali tried to?

What does it mean?


h1.png


For a boxer, it is very important to be light on his feet. How do these boxers achieve that?
By floating around or dancing around in the ring, like a butterfly moving from flower to flower!

butterfly1_1024x768.jpg

They become a moving target so that the opponent finds it hard to land a punch. Think this philosophy could be adopted in life?

Floating in life means less attachment, less responsibility and perhaps less baggage! Sounds good right? Proponents of positive and contemporary interpretation of 'rolling stone gathers no moss' (which equates moss to 'stagnation') may strongly say that floating is good!

I beg to disagree but that is just me - what do you think?

For a boxer, it is also very important to make a strong and quick attack, almost like a bee sting when the opportunity arises.
wasps_1024x768.jpg

The moment the opponent's guard opens up, a jab/punch has to be delivered powerfully - to knock the opponent cold. How about adopting this philosophy in life?

Do you think we can get in a deliver punches strongly, leave a wake of ended relationship and trauma - risking isolation, branded a sociopath?

Again - I beg to disagree but that is just me - what do you think?


h3.png


Butterflies have this 'stinger' like proboscis that actually does not sting. (The real stinger is hidden and small - only for self protection). Using this proboscis, the butterfly sucks nectar out of flowers - leaving the flower none the worse for it. What if , in life - we can adopt this approach - be sweet, sting without venom, get our work done and silently move away?

Would that not be a more desirable outcome than a sting??

By the way - did you know that a bee DIES after it stings (because it's stinger is barbed and the bee's abdomen gets ruptured while separating after a sting). That would be disastrous in life - isn't it?

One should live for facing another challenge in life after a sting, don't you think?


h2.png


Bees fly tirelessly for 90,000 miles (equals 3 times around the globe!) to gather one pound of honey. So - they do not float. They work hard and fly straight but at the end of it all, they have a pound of honey to show for it. What does the butterfly demonstrate?

The bees, without floating, build stable hives, live there as long as the hive does not get destroyed and create societies with bonding.


h4.png


No! I am advocating smart and steady. Floating like a butterfly and stinging like a bee in life takes a lot of strength of character. We all have it in us but not all of us are willing to pay the price for following that path - isolation, loneliness, instability ... Do you think we should pay this price?

I, for one, have not yet found the perfect answer. I like the concept of being free and unattached, floating freely - a free bird, doling out strong words and punches without any need for diplomacy: BUT as I project my thoughts towards the eventual old age that is going to get us all in the end, I get shaky and feel that I may need companionship - companionship that a lot of money won't buy.

Perhaps, I may feel at that moment that a hand that holds my hand to comfort me, to give me a reassuring smile as I take my last breaths, is worth ALL the attachment and responsibility that I may bear in life. A burden that would have been the sweetest burden of them all!!

So - What do you think your Float/ Sting strategy is for life?


Note: All images used are my original photographs taken with Nikon P900 camera. I did not have an original bee picture taken by me, so used a wasp picture instead :)

upvote follow resteem.gif

steemit1.png

Sort:  

Agreed. Love it. Fly like a butterfly and sting like a bee. I like to sting but am choosing to fly more now first or instead. I try to do both but focus on flying. These are great metaphors. Thanks for sharing. Upvoted. Resteemed.

Thank you so much. Will take a look at your blogs shortly.

And most important don't forget to have some great food! I've just posted my latest recipe for you to try! Panini anyone!?

I am in middle here... A butterbee...

Some cool pictures and interesting info given here! I think I already upvoted this with the minnowsupport group. Wish I could upvote it more. Instead I will upvote the comment you made on my post! Thanks!

One another note @vm2904 you are on my radar for a special project. Details will follow in the next few days... Just be ready for it =)

@scrooger - Thank you so much for your support and encouragement. I am excited to hear about a project. I will await details. I hope I do not miss your post announcing it. If you do not see a response from me, can you please drop me a message as a comment on one of my posts. Is there a better way to communicate?

@vm2904 It won't be mentioned in a post. It is TOP SECRET =P I will give you all the details in good time. If you have steemit.chat I will msg you there. If not, I suggest you register there and I will message you there.

I have registered on Steemit chat. Same username. Will be able to see messages tomorrow. Thanks

Great stuff. Will leave all the details tomorrow!

I'm a floater, rather than stinker. I hate agressivity! I'm basically calm, it's hard to get out of my way. But if I need, I would use the power of my attacker, as in aikido.

Thanks for your comment. Interesting approach on using the power of the attacker! Wonder if any animal examples are there for that...

This post has received a 3.61 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @vm2904.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66750.09
ETH 3474.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80