Life is Hard

in #life6 years ago

Raising grandchildren for an unemployed widowed senior female is one of the hardest things I have every had to do. At this time in my life I should be sleeping in, eating a bowl of cereal for supper, packing a pack and just going! Instead I am getting up at 6AM, cooking breakfast, packing lunches, ironing clothes, attending peewee football games. I have become my Mother! Struggling to keep the utilities on, while buying uniforms for basketball, making sure the children have "stylish" clothes and shoes to wear "under armor, nike, " saving every penny to send them to summer camp. Homework is the biggest nightmare, having to learn math all over again, it's called COMMON CORE MATH,, where 2 + 2 DOES NOT = 4 anymore (I actually did ask the teacher if I could sit in on some classes)!! And, o yeah, diagramming a sentence, what's up with that!!!! How/when did life get so dang hard!!!! But on the flip side........

Watching this little ones while they play, laugh, sleep, even talk to their friends, is amazing. Heck my 11 year old granddaughter is my fashion advisor. Learning everything all over again, the latest music treads (that's a mind blower), teaching them to cook (something has been lost somewhere down the line) respect, making beds, washing dishes, whew! Hugs at night, smoothing the hurt when they get bullied at school, kissing booboo's. Teenage hormones raging, boy/girlfriends, facts of life (changed a lot since I raised my kids). Watching the excitement on his little face when he hits a homerun.

Want to know how I do it? When I FINALLY go to bed at night, after reading their favorite bedtime story to them, those tiny arms go around my neck, and their sleepy little voice say "I love you Nana" I tuck them in with tears in my eyes, and thank God for giving me another chance at LIFE and LEARNING, to hopefully make a difference in their little lives. Please remember me and my journey when you pack your bags for a weekend get-a-way, when you fly to London for that annual vacation, I'll be the grandmother cheering on the kids when he makes that winning touchdown for the team, and getting that hug at night. PRICELESS

Sort:  

You are what I would consider a hero and so will that child. Keep doing what you're doing as the love will come back to you 10 fold. Oh, and I wholeheartedly agree that common core math is ridiculous. Thanks for haring and take care!

Thank you, it is hard, and i cry a million tears when I lay down at night. Tears of joy, for being given the chance to make a difference and tears for the lost children of the world, all are not fortunate enough to have a grandparent to care for them. God is good to us.

Grand Children are awesome but we do need to have some alone time too.LOL We have 3 grand babies with one on the way. we had 2 of them all weekend last week and that was fun but exhausting too. Hang in there and enjoy the good stuff. Life is hard but you never have to look to far to see the good parts

Grands are awesome! They are a reflection of ourselves and give us the chance to get even with our kids, lol. Also gives us the chance to be kids again and spoil them, no matter what the parents say. I now know why God made mommies young, its dang hard keeping up with the little ones. Thanks for the reply. It helps talking to others in my same predicament. Keep the encouraging words coming, please

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67659.51
ETH 3800.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55