You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Stop comparing yourself with the best of others

in #life6 years ago

Good lesson and a nicely written article. Tell me how applying it in real life works for you, as I'm trying to do the same and I can tell you that as a 'perfect perfectionist' it's kind of hard. :)))))

What I've found out to work for me - at the recommendation of others - is going to therapy to get to know myself and the underlying bricks of this habit of perfectionism.

Good luck! ;)

Sort:  

Thanks for the kind words! :)

The way I do it is by looking at what I want to do and constantly reminding myself that I'm not yet a pro, but I'm competent and able to do something small, simple, that will eventually get me where I want.

Every time I work on something, no matter how insignificant it may seem, I imagine that thing as being another step I take towards being as good as I want.

I even wrote the quote I mentioned at the beginning of the article on a simple background and I use it as my desktop wallpaper in order to constantly remind myself that being the best means that I first need to be bad, decent, good etc, and all that requires work that involves failure and multiples attempts.

I'm just telling myself what I need to do/think all the time and that works for me. Therapy is a good idea as well, but I'd rather go for autosuggestion and the adoption of a new way of thinking.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64542.61
ETH 3460.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51