Sort:  

True. OTOH, the monetary reward is incentivizing. I've done freelance writing for a few years. It's highly competitive, and can be tough to make a decent income until you make a name. Even then, all it takes is one staff member to change and you're back to scrambling.
When I was younger, I would write away just for the pleasure of it. But it loses its appeal after a while. Building content for content's sake when your cupboards are bare is only so gratifying for so long.
IOW, context really is quite relevant. Having said that, and though I'm making very little right now. I do write what I want to write about. That's the appeal of Steemit. Before, if I didn't hit just the right notes for the editor, it never got published. Now I am the editor and will publish whatever I want, on all the topics I want. I might not make nearly as much, but it's certainly more gratifying. I don't even look for freelance writing gigs right now. The lower income is worth it, plus I have other gigs that actually put food on the table. If I didn't, then I'd have to focus more on what people necessarily want, rather than just blaze away because it's what I want to say. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58442.49
ETH 2554.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42