You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: MEME for thought – Censorship is getting out of hand

in #life6 years ago

I couldn't agree more. I am from India and we here are feeling the same. We have diversified cultures, caste, and religions. So the issue is more grave here.
We have a prime minister who is popular but yet a totalitarian. He has progressive thoughts but yet there is growing concern of censorship here. The media has become a propaganda machine.
Artists and writers' voices are muffled nowadays in the name of religion. But, these concerns also arise from a need which the populace supports too.
Many social media posts are being deleted as there is public uproar. But most of them are politically motivated too to indirectly bring the system under its rule.
I have seen a sudden polarization of thoughts and beliefs which America too suffers from. This polarization is the mantra to win elections and then the losing party supporters feel unsafe as the dominance of the ruling party is at full display.
This is where the players like Facebook, Google, and Youtube succumb to the populist belief and the other voice is choked.
I am recently banned from Facebook. They didn't give any reason to why they banned me.
In a way, I support my prime minister but not on censorship and pro-religion concerns.

Serfdom is a new word I learned today. I never knew that there is such a perfect word which relates to us. Thank you for that as I have a limited knowledge of the language.

I don't know anything about the crypto powered decentralization as I am a newbie to the concept of cryptocurrency. Excuse me for that but I am loving the inhibited posts here. So maybe Steemit is the way forward. I am very new here but hooked on it as I see endless possibilities. But, my government has reservation about cryptocurrency.Maybe that's why I am here subconsciously.

Please write such posts. I loved it.. Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57184.88
ETH 3097.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41