Oh Dang I’m a Dad?!

in #life7 years ago

So as mentioned in my introduction post I received a text on January 1st of 2016 with the words ‘I need to talk to you about something” from my ex girlfriend. This is the actual text I got and the 1st few pics I saw of my son.

text1.jpg

text2.jpg

I called her shortly after and found out that she had been pregnant and that I was likely the father. She had been seeing another guy the same time as we were dating and thought that he was the dad. (Its not like I waited long after we broke up honestly) His 1st response was “I have a girlfriend” so yea he was a real sweetheart. As it turns out one of the last times we had gotten together I had made an indelible impression in the form of our son. So here I was not sure what to think and a lot of questions popping in and out of my head. Is he mine? What do I do? What have I missed? What kind of relationship will i have with him?What would my reaction be? After a few days we met and took one of those quick DNA tests you can pick up from Walgreen's. You swab the mom, possible dad and the infant and in 3-5 days you get an email with the news. Those were the longest days of my life!

I didn’t know if I was about to step into a Maury Povich episode.

maury.jpg

And if I was...well what then? Sure we didn’t end on bad terms. But what will happen?

testresults.jpg

And the test came back positive...yea I’d say that’s conclusive.

Now I really had questions circulating around in my head. I told Melissa eventually that I was interested in getting back together, wanting to give our son the best chance in a loving home with both parents. We discussed it a few times but it wasn’t something we could decide right away, she was dealing with a lot of postpartum depression and other pregnancy related issues.

So as time passed we spent more time together, she met my parents. That was a real cute moment, she was worried they would hate her. My parents aren’t like that though, they saw her as the mother of their grandchild, not the harlot who got pregnant or whatever the 1950’s stereotype is. My parents saw Sebastian and practically melted.
momsebas.jpg

We did get back together and as of August 2016 have been living together. It was a rough few months at the beginning, getting used to living with someone else plus a child who likes to wake up in the middle of the night.

babyshower.jpg

All in all it's been a wild ride, but I wouldn’t change a thing.

Sort:  

That makes you a real man.
You did the right thing.
Thanks for sharing @vischangefitness

That is a wild ride dude! Takes a real man to step up like that and do what you feel is best for all involved - after all the child has no choice. Love to see a positive story for a change. Many blessings to you and your little man. 😎👍🏻

Thanks for the compliment! Yup it has been a wild ride indeed, I'm just strapping in and enjoying the roller coaster!

Just call it like I see it man. It's a beautiful thing to see people making it work. Too many quitters out there. Rock On 😎

Funny his son, follow and upvote me @muhammadikbal

Congrats and welcome. @xtrodinarypilot pilot says your a good guy so I'm going to follow :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 55629.86
ETH 2914.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28