Silence Is The Most Powerful Scream!

in #life8 years ago

The day I heard the most powerful silence!

Have always loved and searched for silence in (my) life.  There is just something about silence that is well silent!  The calm, peace, quiet.

source: infoshutter.com
source: giphy.com

There is the silence that people ask for.  Like when people ask people to be quiet.  Usually at gatherings of people.  But there is still many people and many thoughts going on.  May be a little quieter but not exactly what I like to seek out.

Prefer something away from people.  Like out in the wilderness away from groups of civilized people in society.  Have always loved camping my whole life.  Few years ago I set out to explore such a life.  Looking for the quietness that is much more peaceful than the life we are taught to grow up in(to).  Some times hear the sound of wind or water.  These natural  sounds found alone without others can be very refreshing.

For months I woke up and fell asleep in this beautiful silence of nature by myself.  Having no one to talk to.  This also added a great deal of silence to my life.  Having been so used to talking to being talked to by so many people.  We all become so accustomed to this that most of us can't even imagine not talking to someone else during a day.  Never mind for many days, weeks, or months.

Late last year I took a break from this venture.  Many days I would go to a library so would still interact with people.  However I had been contacted by a friend who asked me for help and invited me back to Las Vegas where I have gone many times before and had lived there for months at a time before too.

source: bulletspokertables.com

We met up playing poker.  Played from time to time.  Was looking forward to going to back to Las Vegas to play poker even though not nearly as quiet.  There were many things I liked and missed.




During my time back between playing some poker and helping my friend out I ended up not feeling well.  It was late one night and there was just a few of us hanging out.  So I went to lie down for a little while.

That morning I woke up and I guess I was acting weird.  They decided to take me out of the house for breakfast.  I don't remember waking up.  So this is when I found the silence in my mind...
source: chucklesnetwork.com

Silence speaks when words can't


Later during the day my behavior became more and more abnormal.  Alarming my friends that something was wrong.  No one had any idea what was wrong though.  Eventually they decided they couldn't help me so they got help and I ended up in an ambulance.
source: geniusquotes.org
source: staticflickr.com
My mind was so silent I do not recall hearing or seeing anything during this time!  At the hospital they checked me out with various tests during my my greatest time of silence in my life!  Then over a day later I woke up in a hospital bed with no idea of how I got there or what happened.

This experience of silence is really amazing!  But it was the result of thunder hidden inside of me during this whole time.  I had gotten Meningitis.  Bacteria had been eating my brain as I had a brain infection in my brain.  This was discovered and I was put on antibacterial treatment right away.
source: postsfromthepath.com

The thunder in my brain was my brain saving its own life and mine in return!

In a round about way I have discovered a most incredible silence in the world that I could seemingly find!


Follow / Visit @virtualgrowth

#life #story #writing #steemsquad #minnowsunite

Sort:  

I was thinking deeply about silence and listening today so I was happy to see this article. Thank for sharing your story and glad your doing well :)

You're welcome and thank you very much. :)

I really enjoyed this. I wish for silence, the tinnitus is relentless.

Have made quite a few friends from the poker table as well my friend.


source: emofaces.com

Well written. I struggle when things are too quiet. My need for constant action is something I'm trying to work on. Glad I read this

I love that feeling when you're on top of a hill, mountain, or anywhere in nature and nobody's around you. Then all you hear is... silence. You hear nothing but the movements you make. It's incredible. It's becomming more and more difficult to experience that feeling as people are constantly finding themselves in the hustle and bustle of urban/suburban life. Sometimes it's just good to get away.

Yes. Love this too. Why I went away. And want to go away again. Maybe if I can take Steem with me this time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55214.91
ETH 2471.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24