My little brother.. lost almost everything abroad.. 😭

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Last night I was reading my brother's statuses on facebook, and then saw he posted a steemit blog too.
https://steemit.com/travel/@wayso/the-greatest-fear-when-travelling

He had his laptop stolen.
Not just from a bag put somewhere.
But from his locked luggage in a securely locked room!
We think it's internal because later as he updates, there are other people's things missing too.

Then this morning I woke to see him update another half a dozen times.
He had gone to 4 different police stations, and then found out his bank had money taken out 1000AUD at a time from random locations in India, a total of 4 times.
file.jpeg

He has such bad luck people will say.
People feel sorry and sad and angry for him on his posts..

We as family try our best to help from our side, calling banks, friends, messaging, asking for prayers.

We hope he can return home safe and sound soon and thank God he isn't dead and still has friends to help him out in London still.

If only he was more active on the steemit world, I'm sure there are some awesome people here who could help him.
But his laptop stolen so there's a risk of a lot of passwords and keys being stolen too.

Hope they catch the thief soon and that he is back home soon where we will welcome him with open arms.

Sort:  

Oh dear, so sorry to hear that! Pray for him.

Posted using Partiko iOS

thank you janice! ❤️

It's a frustrating & challenging if have to face it alone when overseas. The rest of his trip would be tough but thank goodness he's got family to help him out

Yeh losing it here is tough enough already but overseas where there is no one around and you have to ask to borrow phones to call people is so hard!

Posted using Partiko iOS

That sucks, what awful luck 😢

Posted using Partiko iOS

☹️

Posted using Partiko iOS

I stopped in on your bros post! This is the time we should start prompting whales here to give a helping hand. If you can get the right person with influence involved this could be easily resolved!

Have you considered a go fund me? Or the blockchain version fundition?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hey dookie! Haven’t heard from you in a while, thanks for dropping by!
I’ve never tried any of those hehe.. great idea though!

Posted using Partiko iOS

It is amazing the response you can get, we all say really negative things about Facebook and main stream media but they reach so many more people then just steemit. The trick I have seen is trying to get local news coverage, call up the local news station after you have started a gofundme and promote the crap out of it! Here on steemit and everywhere else you can, assuming expenses are a real issue. My friend was able to raise 30k while asking for 5k to cover a funeral for a tragic loss of life, the story behind the event was the seller and so many came to support from all around Canada. She had one anonymous donation of 10k while her story was airing, blew her freaking mind.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wow that’s insane!! And thanks for the super long message on my brother’s post!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yea everything that was left over after the funeral was put into a graduation fund for the grandchildren meant to be used to pay for college, it was a welcomed relief.

No problem my dear, he writes very well it was actually a good read though a upsetting situation. I wish I had the ability to boost him up to the highest paid post ever, sadly not the case.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks so much for the thought! I’ll see if he will agree to go fund me haha

Posted using Partiko iOS

If he don’t do it for him anyways 😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

I’ve created the fundition post followibf your advice :) don’t know if you’ve seen it.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeh my bro posts a lot on fb cos his friends are there and he shares his steemit blogs there too and they comment there instead of here haha..

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yea on boarding your friends and family is tough, just got my father signed up but the wifey still isn’t interested. I will be editing up a few videos for my father and posting his travels on the bike for him, simple mind he has trouble with Facebook. Not even going to attempt to explain steemit or dtube I’ll just do the upload since I’m doing the edit also.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ah that’s a great idea! Yeh same some people will never understand all this technology and how it works but if you help them do it their memories will be recorded in the blockchain.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I really just want to be able to show off how badass my dad is! Lol big old gentle biker, looks like he should be part of a gang yet talks like a small town boy! He is hilarious af to its where I get my sense of humour from.

Posted using Partiko iOS

So cute! Haha looking forward to that video!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I guess as asians we think it’s weird to ask outsiders for money.. so we hardly do it unless we really are poor or lost our house/loved ones
Even then, we would still feel it weird to ask strangers haha..

Posted using Partiko iOS

I can understand that cultural thing and all, it’s not asking for money in a proposition but rather help from those that can afford the expense! There are people out there that would be more then willing to see their pocket change goto good use!

Posted using Partiko iOS

That’s a good point. If everyone just have a dollar then that would help heaps already

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yea know what! Get a post started on fundition I believe you can select a recipient for rewards and ask @adventuroussoul for a few tips, he has done extremely well. I think @waybeyondpadthai is also very familiar with the platform. I will do my part to promote, I’d be up for the challenge and recently I have been getting noticed a fair bit. No promises but I’m always here for a community member how ever I can.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks! The hubby tells me it’s a great idea too and that I’ll need people on board who are trustworthy to others and who trust me hehe. I’ll go chat with them

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sorry to hear this. Hopefully everything will turn out fine later... Sending your brother and you and your family lots of love and positive vibes!!!

Thanks so much Eliza!! ❤️

Posted using Partiko iOS

OH no!! I hope he gets this resolved! How frustrating and disappointing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63315.26
ETH 2668.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79